Waiting On Wednesday: Once by Anna Carey

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that showcases books we’re waiting for.

Sixteen years have passed since a deadly virus wiped out most of the Earth’s population. After learning of the terrifying part she and her classmates were fated to play in the rebuilding of New America, eighteen-year-old Eve fled to the wilds and Califia, a haven for women determined to live outside the oppressive rule of the king of New America. However, her freedom came at a price: she was forced to leave Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. Eve quickly learns that Califia may not be as safe as it seems and soon finds herself in the City of Sand and the palace of the king. There she uncovers the real reason he was so intent on her capture, and the unbelievable role he intends her to fill. When she is finally reunited with Caleb, they will enact a plan as daring as it is dangerous. But will Eve once again risk everything—her freedom, her life—for love?

Brimming with danger and star-crossed romance, and featuring a vivid dystopian landscape, this electrifying follow-up to Eve, which bestselling author Lauren Kate called “a gripping, unforgettable adventure—and a fresh look at what it means to love” is sure to appeal to fans who crave the high-stakes adventure of The Hunger Games and the irresistible love story of Romeo and Juliet.

I really liked Eve and I can’t wait to see where the story goes from there. Expected publication is July 3, 2012.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Nice pick. I love that cover! I have Eve, but still haven’t read it. Can’t wait to dig in. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • I liked Eve but I found the ending totally infuriating. So now I have to read the sequel to find out what happens. Very tricky, Anna Carey!

      Reply
  2. that cover is awesome. I haven’t read eve yet.. shame on me.. :P

    I will one of these days.. but I just have way too many books.

    Reply
  3. I haven’t heard of this one. I hope July comes quickly for you!

    -The Muggle (New Linky Follower user)
    -WoW/DWW
    -Favorite Cover – Round 2

    Reply
  4. I’m very excited for this one, too! I recently met Anna Carey, and she is the most adorable person in the world. LOL

    Reply
  5. I have mixed feelings about EVE, but ONCE definitely has my interest. EVE ended on such a cliffhanger that darn it, now I need to read ONCE to know what happens to Eve, Caleb, etc.

    My WOW

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers

