Waiting on Wednesday: Insurgent

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Release Date: May 1, 2012

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

A bit of an obvious choice, but it really cannot be overstated how much I’m looking forward to this book. I went a long time without reading YA because I was under the mistaken impression that it was “too immature” compared to adult books. I was soooo wrong, and I’ve been reading a lot of YA over the past year or so. I can honestly say that Roth’s first book in this series, Divergent, is one of the best books I have read in a very long time, either YA or adult. Dark and dystopian, it’s the story of a girl who makes a choice to go against everything she’s been raised to believe and leave her entire life behind, a choice which endangers both her own life and the lives of those she loves. While it’s not quite at the level of the Hunger Games (and believe me, I can fangirl over the Hunger Games until eyes start rolling), it’s pretty close. And that is high praise indeed.

**Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine**

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I CANNOT wait for this book! My little brother can’t wait either. He read Divergent last week and he’s in a funk because he has to wait.

    Reply
  2. I get like that, too. I always like to be the last one to hear about a particular series because the books are all out already. I can’t even imagine what I would have done if I’d have had to wait for any of the Hunger Games book. I’d have gone all Hulk Smash through the neighborhood, most likely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

