In Which I Lose It Over The Hunger Games

 

So unless you’ve been hiding under a wi-fi blocking rock (or a fun-blocking firewall) for the entire day today, you’ve probably already seen the trailer I’ve posted above for The Hunger Games movie.

Oh.

My.

Gawd.

I will fully admit that I was already excited for this movie. But now? Now I have no idea how I’m going to get through until March 23rd. I may actually become the first person to die of anticipation, but that’s probably hyperbole. At worst I’ll likely just have a couple of anxiety attacks and camp out for tickets a few weeks in advance.

While I was definitely excited for the movie, I was also nervous. This is one of those books where it’s going to be really, really tough for the movie to live up to my expectations. The books are amazing, and they mean a great deal to me because they are responsible for re-introducing me to the YA genre. It showed me that you’re never too old to enjoy YA, and there’s no reason to feel like you’re reading “beneath” your level. The Hunger Games deals with a lot of very grown-up topics like loss, poverty, familial relationships, love, the few controlling the many, and death. I liked the Harry Potter series, but it didn’t really make me want to further explore the YA genre. The Hunger Games series did. And if I’m being honest, the first book in the series may very well be my favorite book of all time. It’s definitely up there near the top, and the other two aren’t far off either.

Any time someone asks me for a book recommendation, The Hunger Games is always the first one that pops into my head. This is especially true with people who don’t do a lot of reading, because I don’t understand how anyone could get more than a few chapters in and not be totally hooked and want more. I’m always jealous, though, because I’d love to read it again for the first time. I can’t think of any other book in recent memory where from start to finish I just sat there like Cletus the Slack-Jawed Yokel staring at the pages. As soon as I finished I downloaded the other two and tore through them. Right now I’m trying to talk the significant male into reading them, though I’m not sure if I want him to go in knowing what happens or let him be surprised so that I can live vicariously through him.

Some thoughts on the trailer:

  • I love that it ends with Rue’s whistle. I didn’t catch it the first time through and it’s just such a cool little touch.
  • The casting of Woody Harrelson is absolutely brilliant. BRILLIANT. He is totally Haymitch Abernathy. In fact, based on the trailer I think that all of the casting looks pretty true to the book. The only character who turned out nothing like I pictured him is Lenny Kravitz as Cinna. I always pictured Cinna as a skinny little white dude, but I’m totally willing to reserve judgment on that casting until I’ve seen the movie because A) based on everything else I’ve seen of the movie so far there’s no reason to believe he won’t fit the part; and B) he’s on my “forever boyfriend” list at #3 behind LL Cool J and John Cusack.
  • I’m really excited to see what Jennifer Lawrence does with the part of Katniss since she was so freaking good in Winter’s Bone. She completely got robbed at the Oscars.
  • Peeta is exactly how I imagined him. Like, scary how close I imagined him since I had no idea who Josh Hutcherson was before I saw that he had been cast in the role.
  • I love that they give the gist of the story but they don’t give too much away, and they give almost nothing away about what happens in the arena. As much as I can’t wait to see how they make some of the stuff happen, it’s going to make it even more cool to be surprised. So smart.
  • I have neverending love for the musical scores of Danny Elfman, and I may or may not have done a little dance when I heard that he was scoring this movie. I also may or may not have had my eyes pop out of my head when I heard the music in the trailer. I can’t wait to hear the rest of the score.
  • I might have teared up near the end, and I don’t cry easily. I once took a header down a flight of concrete stairs and skidded ten feet to a stop on my chin, and I didn’t so much as sniffle (it’s been suggested that I may have gone into shock). Peeta & Katniss talking on a rooftop? Rue’s whistle? Kleenex city.

Let the impatient waiting begin.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I concur. Spot on. It is always difficult to gauge a movie based on a trailer. It is even more so when that film is based on such a great book – skepticism runs deep. I’m jazzed and totally agree with you, right down to Cinna.

    Reply
  2. You mean that Lenny Kravitz is also on your forever boyfriend list, or you thought Cinna would be small and somewhat pasty? Either way, I’m cool with that.

    Dave had the nerve to tell me that he wants to wait and see how the reviews are. Reviews! You go ahead and wait for those reviews to roll in, chief. I’ll wave from the car on my way to the midnight showing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

