Top Ten Tuesday (Better Late Than Never!)


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Books That Have Been On My Shelf For The Longest But I’ve Never Read

So my top ten is going to be more of a top four. I tend to read most of what I bring home at some point or another, even if it takes a while. However, if books could grow beards the ones below would be mistaken for the founding members of ZZ Top. They’ve been on my shelf so long they’ve probably taken root.

   
Gasp! That’s right, I’ve never read the Twilight books despite having them sitting on my shelf collecting dust for over TWO YEARS. I borrowed the entire series from a family member at Christmas 2009 and I have yet to read or return them. Truthfully I kind of enjoy being one of the few people on the planet who hasn’t been exposed to the Twilight juggernaut. The astonished looks that I get when I tell people I haven’t read the books or even seen the movies never fail to make me giggle.

That said, I’m thinking that it’s time to suck it up and read them because I’d really like to return them at Christmas this year (I wonder if I’ve had them long enough so that she forgot she lent them to me, allowing for the world’s most epic re-gifting?) and I’d feel even more shame for having kept them so long if I also had to fess up that I hadn’t even bother to read them. I really need to make a point of setting aside some time once my Christmas vacation starts, otherwise Bella, Edward & that wolf guy will be receiving their AARP cards before I get around to them.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I didn’t read these for a long time either – but man, when I died I flew right through them.

    In that worst-book-crack-why-in-God’s-name-am-I-addicted-to-this way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

