Top Ten Authors I Want At My Thanksgiving Dinner

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

It didn’t explicitly say “living or dead” so I went ahead and picked my top ten choices regardless of whether or not they’re still among the living. 🙂

Margaret Atwood – It’s fair to say that reading The Handmaid’s Tale in college totally blew me away. Plus, based on her books and her tweets, she just seems like a really sharp woman. I think I’d enjoy talking with her.

Stephen King – Oh, Stephen King. You are one of the few authors who consistently manages to make my flesh crawl, and I say that as a compliment. He’s been one of my favorite authors for years, so no way could I pass on having him over for turkey & stuffing. The first thing I’d do is thank him for creating Pennywise, who in turn created my complete and total fear of clowns.

Suzanne Collins –  I’d love to know her thought process behind creating the characters of The Hunger Games, the arena, etc. And I’d love to thank her for re-introducing me to the YA genre.

Judy Blume – I’d love to thank her for introducing me to the YA genre the first time around, when I actually was a YA. Everything I learned about love and sex, I learned from Forever.

Edward Gorey – All you have to do is take one look at The Gashleycrumb Tinies to know that this man must have had a wicked and macabre sense of humor.

Bram Stoker – Because seriously? I’d love to get his thoughts on sexy vampires.

David Sedaris – I could listen to him tell stores for hours and hours. Days, even. He could just stay the entire long weekend.

Michael Ian Black – This might actually be cheating since he’s primarily a comedian/actor, but he’s also a published author so I’m considering him fair game. I have loved this man in a platonic and not at all creepy way since his days on The State. He makes me guffaw at inappropriate things.

Harriet Beecher Stowe – I am a history nerd. I am such a history nerd that I even spent a billiongajillion dollars getting a history degree that is, quite honestly, not worth the paper it’s printed on. So to have the opportunity to have dinner with an author who very literally may have influenced the timeline of – if not outright changed – the course of history? Yes. Please.

David McCullough – Another history nerdish pick. David McCullough is such a talented writer that his history books would appeal to people who don’t even care about history. 1776,  John Adams, Truman, The Path Between the Seas, Brave Companions? All David McCullough. If this man wrote the phone book I’d probably read it. Plus he’s a native Pittsburgher just like me, so we could wax nostalgic about lots of yinzer topics.

I kind of doubt that any of them will show, but the invitation is open!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

