Review: 11/22/63 by Stephen King

11/22/63
By Stephen King
849 Pages
Publisher: Scribner

I will get this out of the way right off the top, since King’s readers tend to always ask, “Is it good SK or not so good SK?”, which generally translates to, “Is it like his old stuff or not?”

In this case, the answer is…kinda but not really? In some ways, but not in others? So while that answer isn’t exactly clear, I can say that in my opinion it’s one of the best things he’s written in quite a long time. And while I am a huge fan of King’s, I feel like I have the ability to be objective when it comes to his books. There are a few I thought were fairly meh, there’s a series that everyone else seems to love that I’ve never been able to get into (The Gunslinger), and there’s a novel that I have never been able to finish now matter how many times I’ve tried picking it up (Gerald’s Game).  So while I am an SK fan – a big one – I don’t unconditionally love everything he puts his name on. I did, however, love this book quite a bit more than I expected to.

It’s more of a sci-fi book than a typical King horror, which made me a bit nervous going in. I don’t dislike sci-fi but I’d prefer horror/paranormal any day of the week. The time travel bit made me a little nervous as well. Unlike my significant male, who reads Stephen Hawking for fun, I tend to zone right out any time the words “space time continuum” come up unless there’s a Delorean and some Libyan Plutonium involved. I had no trouble following the storyline whatsoever, though.

This is one of those reviews that’s really hard to do because pretty much everything one might mention is tied to the plot and therefore a spoiler, so mentioning even one choice that Jake makes is giving away too much. I will say I felt that the characters were really well developed (the main ones, anyway) and I felt a lot of empathy for them, particularly for Jake.  Events that take place are woven together really seamlessly. At one point when I was reading I realized that the book reminded me of a non-comedic episode of Seinfeld: a lot of seemingly independent stuff happens and as the book goes on, they all tie together and you think “aha, so that’s why King kept mentioning that thing that seemed completely superfluous to the story!”

It’s a daunting looking book at 849 pages, but don’t let that scare you off. It’s easy for even the most voracious reader to look at it and wince, because you could read two (or more) shorter books in the same time it’ll take you to read this one. Don’t let the size put you off, though. Unlike some of King’s books it doesn’t take forever and a day to get around to the point, and it’s a book that you quickly get hooked on. There were several times that I literally couldn’t put this book down, I would say “just one more chapter” and one chapter would turn into ten. So while it weighs roughly as much as my car (even the most staunch anti-eBook reader will be wishing for a Kindle), it’s worth the effort and the relatively copious time investment. Highly recommended.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I’m so glad to see that you’ve read this and have the SK knowledge base to say it is one of the better books he has given us recently – I definitely feel like I can trust you and now i just want to read it more.

    I really AM a huge sci-fi fan, so I think this’ll be a definite home run.

    Reply
  2. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    wished to say that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts.

    In any case I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping
    you write again very soon!

    Reply
  3. I think that is amonbg the so much significant information for me.
    And i’m satisfied studying your article. However wanna observation on some common things, The website style is ideal,
    the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Just right process,
    cheers

    Reply
  4. I do consider all of the ideas you’ve introduced on your post.
    They are really convincing and will definitely
    work. Still, the posts are too quick for novices. Could you please prolong them a bit from
    next time? Thanks for the post.

    Reply
  5. Hоwdy! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be
    okay. I’m undoubteԁly enjoying yοur blog and look forward to new updates.

    Reply
  6. Great post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed!

    Very helpful information specifically the remaining
    phase 🙂 I care for such info much. I used to be looking
    for this particular information for a very lengthy time. Thank
    yoou and best of luck.

    Reply
  7. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve puut in penning this site.
    I am hopikng to ssee the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has
    encouraged me too get my own, personal blog now 😉

    Reply
  8. I ρay a visit everyday a few websites and sites
    to read articleѕ, hoever this webpage offers feature
    bbased content.

    Reply
  9. You can definitedly seee your enthusiasm in the work you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to
    say how they believe. All the time ggo after your heart.

    Reply
  10. Hi, I doo believe this is an excellent website.

    I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to come back once again since i have bookmarkd it.
    Monery and freedom iss the greatest way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to guide other people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

