Top Ten Tuesday: Childhood Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is top ten childhood favorites. Woo!

1. A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein – This really could have been any of Silverstein’s books, but I have a special fondness for this one.

2. Cars and Trucks and Things That Go by Richard Scarry – My little brother and I used to spend hours scouring every page of this book to find Goldbug. If you were to compare cost vs. hours of use, this book might be the best investment my parents ever made.

3. Nancy Drew Mystery Stories by Carolyn Keene – While I read quite a lot as a young kid, these are the books that really cemented my love of reading and turned me into a bookaholic. My dad brought one home for me one day and I read the entire thing through – twice – in one sitting. After that, he would occasionally bring a new one home for me as a surprise and I would just squeal. I ended up with the whole set, which I still have to this day. I tried to read the modernized ones in the 90s and it just wasn’t the same.

4. Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume – This could probably be switched out with any Judy Blume book, to be honest, but this is the first one I remember reading. Forever is probably my favorite of hers, but I read that one when I was a bit older so I’m not counting it.

5. Sweet Valley High series by Francine Pascal – Honestly, looking back on these books now I find them kind of insufferable. Fiats? Lavaliers? Perfect size sixes? Piss off, Wakefields. But when I was a kid, these two just seemed so incredibly cool and perfect.

6. The Babysitters Club series by Ann M. Martin – These were my go-to books when I was a kid/young tween even though I NEVER BABYSAT AFTER WATCHING HALLOWEEN WHEN I WAS 12. They dealt with some surprisingly serious issues like diabetes, moving away, etc. The book where Stacey’s family moved to NYC was a sobfest.

7. The Witches Four by Marc Brown – Another book that my little bro and I would read all the livelong day when we were fun-sized. He was three years younger and too little to read, so I read to him. Sister of the year right there.

8. Salem’s Lot by Stephen King – I think I was about 12 when I read this one, and thus began my love affair with SK, vampires, and all things creepy.

9. Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective series by Donald J. Sobol – Total weakness for kid detectives, even yucky boy ones. Plus, BUGS MEANY, people. Bugs Meany.

10. Not sure what I’d put here, maybe How To Eat Fried Worms? Who Put That Hair In My Toothbrush? I dunno, I guess the first nine are the ones that I truly loved.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. It’s funny, practically every woman in my age range (late 20s- mid 30s) read Sweet Valley High, Babysitter’s Club and Stephen King. This combination is always present. I guess it’s because as far as widely available tween/teen, SVH and BSC were the biggies, and when we got sick of that and needed more, it’s Stephen King. I tried to read “It” when I was about 13, wow that is a long book. Teens today are so lucky with the amazing selection of YA books!

    Reply
  2. By the time I hit 14 or so, Stephen King was my go-to author. I can remember sitting up way late into the night reading the creepiest scenes. Misery, Thinner, Insomnia, Firestarter… Those were good times!

    Reply
  3. Yup – I’m another Nancy Drew & Sweet Valley High fan – and I grew up in Jamaica!

    Reply
  4. I love how many other people were into these same books when they were a kid!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

