Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
By Michelle Hodkin
452 Pages
Published by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

Whoa. I know I’m going to love a book when the first chapter sucks me right in, and this one did. Like, immediately. And the book is a total mind trip. I actually got confused a few times early on but once I sorted out what was going on (or what I thought was going on) I had a hard time putting the book down. I zipped through it in one evening, which I haven’t done in ages.

Hm…where should I start with a review? Oh, I know…NOAH. Noah Shaw is the best book boyfriend I can remember in ages. Maybe ever. What a seriously awesome dude. Such a sweet and charming guy, I was actually kind of jealous of Mara. Jealous of a fictional character! That’s when you know a book boy is well written. He seemed so shallow at first but he ended up having so much depth. Bravo, Michelle Hodkin. You made me love a boy who wears skinny jeans, something that I didn’t even think was possible.

I really liked Michelle Hodkin’s writing style. Or at least, the dialogue that she gave the characters. Mara talked like I do. She used the phrase “little nerdlet!” Nerdlet and nerdlinger are total staples in my vocabulary. A couple of times she dropped a phrase that is a standard in my repertoire. Woo for realistic dialogue! Or at least, realistic for me. Some would dispute that my dialogue is especially realistic, but they can get bent.

I feel like I’m becoming a broken record here with my reviews lately, but I soooo did not see the last few chapters coming, both with Mara and with Noah. Whaaaat? I was kind of shocked that the book went in the direction it went in, which is definitely not a bad thing. In fact, I think it added to the overall enjoyability of the story. I realize that I’m being very cryptic right now but I’m keeping this totally spoiler-free. And the last few pages? Totally.blew.me.away. This was me reading the last paragraph of the book:

Imagine that Star Trek dude as a really pasty white girl and that is me EXACTLY. I was that shocked. I actually yelled “What the eff?”, except I didn’t say eff. Did I mention I was shocked?

I am waiting with baited breath for book two.

4.5/5 stars – I Like It Very Much and a Half

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. This book definitely had some twists; I kept trying to figure them out and was mostly right, but it took me awhile to get that it wasn’t just a straight psychological thriller.

    Reply
  2. I’m on Chapter 10 right now, so just getting started. Not many Noah appearances yet, so I shall reserve my opinion, but I’m glad to hear you liked it. Nice review, and thanks for keeping it spoiler free:)

    Reply
  3. I really have to read this book soon then. Great review!

    The Muggle
    1. US/Can Giveaway of Tempest by Julie Cross
    2. My International Giveaway

    Reply
  4. You make this book sound so good! I may hold off on reading it if I can until book 2 is out. I’m so curious about the shocking ending though!

    Reply
  5. I have, but haven’t read Mara yet. Your review makes me want to read it NOW. I’m w/you about dudes wearing skinny jeans. He must be one awesome guy. I can’t wait to read this!
    Thanks for an awesome, spoiler-free review!

    Reply
  6. Ahhh, I cannot wait to read this book! I read one review who said that if you like the movies Inception and Memento, you have to read it. (I wish I remember who wrote that, so I can give them credit…) So I HAVE to read this! It’s sitting on my shelf, waiting to be read…

    Awesome review! I’m a new follower but I’m loving your blog so far, and I love your humor!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

