TTT: Top Ten Scariest Books EVER!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the cool cats at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten (er…Top Eight)  is a freebie, so we can pick whatever we want as the topic for our list. Since I’m a huge fan of horror and being scared I decided to make a list of…

TEN BOOKS THAT WILL SCARE YOUR FACE OFF. Eek!

1. IT by Stephen King – Dear sweet infant baby Jesus. This book is responsible for many sleepless nights and a lifelong fear of clowns (it’s real and it’s called coulrophobia even though it’s not a recognized medical condition thankyouverymuch). I was pretty young the first time I read this book and I still haven’t fully recovered. That tv movie starring Tim Curry didn’t help matters.

2.The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris– Hello Clarice. Goodbye, ability to walk into a darkened basement.

3. Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill – Much like his father, Joe Hill has the ability to write a book that wigs me right the hell out and makes me want to sleep with the lights on. Moral of the story here: collecting haunted objects is a very, very bad idea.

4. Off Season by Jack Ketchum – Hillbilly cannibals and city slickers vacationing in the country. I think that pretty much says it all. Truly probably the most gruesome book I’ve ever read.

5. The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty – Before it was a pants-shitting movie, it was a pants-shitting book. I remember the first time I read this. I lived alone and was reading in the bathtub. It was a short bath.

6. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – Maybe “thoroughly disturbing” would be a more accurate description than scary, but it falls under both categories. File also under: bleak, depressing, frightening, macabre.

7. Still Missing by Chevy Stevens – Not scary in the “boo, ghost!” way, but in the “oh my god, this is horrifying and sick and could actually happen because people are way scarier than ghosts could ever be” way.

8. I Am Legend by Richard Matheson – Truly scary and a classic, this is one of my favorite books of all time. I prefer to pretend that the abomination of a movie adaptation starring Will Smith doesn’t actually exist.

And there you have it. There are plenty of books that I’ve read that are kind of creepy but I wanted to keep this to books that truly scared me in some way. I also tried to keep it to one book per author, because this easily could have turned into “Top Ten Stephen King Books That Scared the Crap Out of Me.”

What are your favorite scary books?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I have always wanted to read I Am Legend! Maybe I should get to it soon 🙂
    Great list!

    The Muggle
    1. US/Can Giveaway of Tempest by Julie Cross
    2. My International Giveaway

    Reply
  2. I’m convinced that clowns are the incarnation of all things evil. This fear probably stems from me seeing the movie it when I was in grade school. THEY JUST CREEP ME OUT!!!

    Another scary book that I’ve read is The Devouring by Simon Holt. It was creepy!

    Reply
  3. blade101

     /  May 4, 2012

    beautiful list. loving no. 1 by Stephen King

    Reply
  4. AImee

     /  September 11, 2014

    Anyone who has enjoyed these books will love “House of Leaves” by Mark Z. Danielewski. Creepy stuff!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

