Review: Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake

Anna Dressed in Blood
By Kendare Blake
316 Pages
Published by Tor Teen

Cas Lowood kills ghosts,  just like his father did before him. After receiving a tip about a ghost in Canada called Anna Dressed in Blood – a ghost who murders anyone who enters her house – he sets off to dispatch her as he has so many other ghosts. But when he finally meets Anna he finds that he is hesitant to kill her…and the feeling is mutual.

I loved so many things about this book that it’s hard to know where to start, so I’ll start with the obvious. The cover. Wow. I don’t know what it is, but I loved the cover of this book so much! The red against the gray background, the way her hair is billowing out around her (and the fact that there’s an actual reason for this explained in the book, it’s not just made to look pretty). Every time I looked at this cover I noticed some small detail that I hadn’t noticed before. It’s just so pretty. And I also liked the dark red font the text of the book is written in. Very nice little detail. Also, is there a better and more creepy name for a ghost than Anna Dressed in Blood? It’s right up there with Bloody Mary IMO.

I also liked the way some aspects of the story reminded me of some of my pop-culture faves. Like, Cas’s life completely reminded me of the Winchester Brothers from Supernatural. That’s not to say that the book is derivative in any way because it’s not, it just brought up some good associations for me. I also liked the little shout-outs to Buffy that Blake threw in. And the character called Will Rosenberg – I couldn’t help but wonder if that was a homage to Willow Rosenberg?  I think yes?

Kendare Blake has a knack for creating really, really spooky ghosts and situations involving ghosts. Without giving too much away, Anna wasn’t even close to the scariest one in the book. The relationship between Anna & Cas is also surprisingly believable, especially considering that he’s a ghost hunter and she’s, well, a ghost. This is another thing that reminded me of Buffy – her relationship with Angel. And again I want to point out that I’m not saying in any way that this book is a take-off of Buffy. It’s not. I’m just a huge Buffy fan and I noticed things that reminded me of something you’d see on the show, which I always consider a good thing. Anyway, I normally don’t really find humans being in love with paranormal creatures particularly believable but in this case, I did. And it wasn’t insta-love, so bonus points there.

The climax of the book was super tense, and the ending made me totally anxious to get my hands on the next book. I get most of my books from the library or on Kindle and I don’t actually buy a lot of hard copies because I live in a little townhouse and don’t really have the space, but I’m totally going to pick up a copy of Anna. I love the cover and the look of the book too much to get an eBook.

5/5 Stars!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I got this book recently and have heard SO many great things about it! I love that you mention there are Buffy references and especially no insta love! That’s always a plus for me! I cannot WAIT until I get some extra free time to read this. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed it enough to buy a hard copy when you don’t have much space! That’s pretty high praise!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

