TTT: Top Ten Books You’d Hand to Someone Who Says They Don’t Like to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the cool kids over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list is…

Top Ten Books You’d Hand to Someone Who Says They Don’t Like to Read (after I glove slap them, of course)

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Well honestly, I don’t know why I’d be talking to someone who says they don’t like to read. I’d probably just glaze over and slowly back away with my mouth hanging open if someone were ever like, “I don’t like to read.” But once I got over my initial shock, I’d hand them The Hunger Games and then sit back and profit. Because really, nobody is going to read The Hunger Games and then say they don’t like to read. Nobody.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling – Yet another one that it’s impossible not to like. And this one is double fun because you’ll get people who are like, “Oh, I don’t read kid books.” And you can be like, “Boom, sucker” once they finish it and immediately ask you for the second book.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – But but but that’s a school book! It’s also one of the best dystopians ever written.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson – One of the creepiest books ever written, and it’s on the short side for all of those “but I don’t have tiiiime to read” people.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman – Because I don’t want to know a person who doesn’t read and enjoy this book, so it not only gets people reading, it lets me know who to avoid.

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak – It seems like this one turns up on almost ever TTT I do, and there’s a good reason for that.

Any of Stephen King’s short story collections – Because I think he’s a great writer but his books tend to be really long (which tends to be intimidating for people who don’t like to read).

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson – Awesome trilogy. The first book starts out slow which might result in some whining, but if they’d give it 100 pages I’m pretty sure they’d be hooked.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray – Because I fail to see how anyone could not find this humorous enough to read from cover to cover.

And that’s it. I can only come up with nine because in all honesty, I have no idea how to deal with people who don’t like to read and I have no idea what to even recommend to them. The concept does not compute.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

