Review: Switched by Amanda Hocking

Switched
By Amanda Hocking
293 Pages
Published by St. Martins Griffin

When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy’s not sure she wants to be a part of it.

I have been having the most awesome luck lately with self-published authors. I guess Amanda Hocking is technically no longer self-published, but whatev. I’m counting her.

I did not think I’d be into a book about trolls. TROLLS! I kept imagining those little things with the crazy day-glo hair and the jewels in their belly buttons. All of the positive reviews from blogs that haven’t steered me wrong in the past won out, though, and I decided to give Switched a shot. Needless to say, I was totally wrong about the whole troll thing. Still not sure I’d be in to a troll book per se, but Hocking’s Trylle are less “old ladies rub me for luck when they play bingo” and more “fantastical creatures who have gotten a very negative stereotype.”

The cover also drew me in. Red is my favorite color so it caught my eye right away, and I liked the font/name graphics. Less crazy about the “pretty girl in a fancy dress sitting in a field of flowers” trope, but the fancy dress actually does play into the book so there’s a reason why she’s all dressed up with seemingly no place to go.

While the Trylle were a far cry from those green things that live under bridges, aside from Finn they’re all kind of…well, frankly, they’re kind of unlikeable. Even the ones who become friendly with Wendy have a characteristic or two that are a complete turn-off.ย  I was a little surprised that Wendy decided to stay with them no matter how much of an outsider she was in the human world, to be honest. Rhys, however, was excellent and though I saw the twist involving him coming it was still very creative. And Finn himself was very, very awesome.

I’m really interested to see where the rest of the trilogy goes and I’m super glad that I won’t have long to wait!

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. That IS surprising. Somehow I thought Switched was about witches and not trolls. And yeah, trolls are definitely NOT up my alley at all. I’m glad to hear that Switched was actually pretty good. I will have to check it out ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Yes, trolls! They’re mostly jerks, so that is kind of troll-like. They’re mostly normal looking or super faboo beautiful, though, so not the Harry Potter type of troll.

      Reply
  2. I have this on my friends kindle.. she lent me till I get my own.. I read hollowland first.. which was okay.. but I think I shoulda read this one first maybe. That’s awesome that the dress comes into play.. cause most the time it’s just for show.. I love when covers are made based from events and such in the book. :p

    My friends mom kinda looks like a troll, not the same friend who lent me the kindle.. lol. but seriously this woman has bleached her hair so much it is like a fuzzy cotton ball, I could totally twist it up and she’s look like those troll we all loves so much as children.. Now if I can just talk her into getting her belly button pierced.

    Reply
    • OMG, why do people do that to their hair? Hi…WE KNOW YOU’RE NOT REALLY BLOND WHEN YOUR HAIR LOOKS LIKE COTTON CANDY. It might work for Betty White, but sister, you’re no Betty White.

      My friend and I have hockey season tickets and we play a game called “Spot the Bad Hair” every time we go. It’s one point for bad female hair (because let’s face it, bad woman hair is a dime a dozen), two points for bad man hair, and three points for bad kid hair. Last game I trailed all night until I pulled out a victory at the last minute by spotting a kid under the age of ten with a rat tail. A rat tail, for the love of god. If that’s not child abuse I don’t know what is.

      Related point to cotton ball hair – you know when you’re driving behind an old lady and all you can see is the fuzzy white top of her hair over the head rest? I refer to them as Q-Tips. I’m def going to hell sooner rather than later.

      Reply
      • Ha ha!! thats too funny.

        A rat tail??!!?? EWWWWWWW hell no.

        There used to be a strip joint by me… called Spankys (So original, I know) Anyway, a bunch of us went, infact I think troll mom was even with us.. Well, there was this full time stripper there. She had this bitching Mullet.. I mean.. like Joe Dirt Mullet.. And she whore [ <— clever mis-spelling] a white bra top looking thing and the bottom was practically granny panties.. I tell you, she's couldn't get a fuckin rock hard.. Now wonder they went out of business.

        Reply
  3. Oh so true something is still going to happen with Rhys!
    Glad you enjoyed it as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    -The Muggle (New Linky Follower user)
    -In My Trunk
    -Favorite Cover โ€“ Round 2

    Reply
  4. I had heard great things about Switched, too. I wasn’t a big fan of this one. It was okay, but there was only one or two characters that I kind of liked and i didn’t like Wendy at all. I am glad you enjoyed Switched, though. Yay!

    Reply
    • I kinda wasn’t in love with Wendy either, but I liked Finn and Rhys enough to make fun of it. And I can’t even leave off on that cliffhanger, so there’s no way I’m not picking up Torn when it comes out later this month.

      Reply
  5. What’s up, Reservez votre Voiture Casablanca ou autocars en louant sur Casablanca et Ouarzazate au Maroc votre minibus de location ou 4×4 Casablanca, what you say friends?t00wiqp…

    Reply
  6. Hi there, its good piece of writing concerning media print, we all know media is a
    great source of data.

    Reply
  7. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for feminized seeds from dutch passion

    Reply
  8. I need to to thank you for this great read!!

    I certainly loved every little bit of it. I’ve got you book-marked to check out new things you postโ€ฆ

    Reply
  9. Hi there Dear, are you really visiting this website regularly,
    if so then you will definitely get fastidious experience.

    Reply
  10. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff prior to and you’re
    simply extremely excellent. I actually like what you’ve bought right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way by which you assert it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful web site.

    Reply
  11. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Outstanding work!

    Reply
  12. I’m not sure where you are getting your
    info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning
    much more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

    Reply
  13. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Reply
  14. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?

    Reply
  15. Hey! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying
    to find a template or plugin that might be able
    to fix this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Thank you!

    Reply
  16. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page
    layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what
    youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful
    lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

    Reply
  17. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this site daily, this website is
    truly fastidious and the people are in fact sharing fastidious thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

