TTT: Top Ten Books I’d Save If My House Went All Poltergeist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the cats at The Broke and the Bookish.

So this week’s question is top ten books you’d save if your house was being abducted by aliens (or other natural disaster). I’ve chosen to imagine what would happen if my house went all crazy and erupted with skeletons and black hole closets, and then finally just got sucked into itself and disappeared at the end. You know, like in Poltergeist. And if you have no idea what I’m talking about, please watch the movie.

This one is tough for me because I don’t actually OWN a lot of books anymore since I don’t have a ton of space, and because a lot of what I do have is on my eReader. It seems kind of cheap to just be all, “I’d pick up my Kindle and run out the door and save everything at once, suckers!” It also would make a lame top ten list. So I’m prob going to come up a bit short here. Basically I’d just worry about my pets and my boyfriend & me. Books are replaceable, so I’m going to pick stuff that’s less replaceable for the most part.

1. My Nancy Drew Collection – I have every Nancy Drew ever written from the original series. They’re all nice and safe in a box in my crawl space, so I’d probably burn to death trying to dig them out from behind my Christmas tree and 300 spare throw blankets. It would be worth it, though. I love some Nancy Drew. These books are how I really got into reading for enjoyment. My dad used to bring me one home every now and then as a surprise and eventually I ended up with the whole collection.

2. Weird Pennsylvania – Even though it’s a little heavy on the other side of the state, I still am amused endlessly by this book. I love oddities and this is a nice big hardback filled with cool pictures of and stories about weird stuff.

3. Hunger Games Trilogy – OK, these ones are on my ereader, so basically this would rescue most of the other books I’ve got as well.

4. The Handmaid’s Tale – Because anyone who would let this book burn up should be behind bars.

5. Any Stephen King I could carry – And actually, that probably wouldn’t be many because: a) I have most of his stuff in hardback, and; b) his books are, for the most part, total doorstoppers.

6. My high school yearbooks – Yep. Technically they’re probably replaceable, but it would be a huge pain in the ass. And let’s be honest, who would let an absolutely incredible senior picture like this be lost forever?

In my defense, it could have been worse. If I’d have graduated a few years earlier big hair still would have been in style.

7. Photo albums – Duh. These are probably the only non-living thing I’d even try to grab if my house were disappearing into a frightening alternate universe full of ghosts. Except my purse, because a lost drivers license means a trip to the DMV and I’d rather take my chances with the evil ghosts.

And that’s pretty much it. Lame. Like I said, I don’t own a lot of physical books anymore. I’m not a big “stuff” person and living in a small townhouse with a man who has more belongings than he knows what to do with necessitates me paring down for my own sanity.

Please comment and leave me a list for your TTT so I can check it out!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. That is one AWESOME senior pic!! 😀 Great list! I didn’t think it was lame at all.

    Reply
  2. ha! I didn’t realize there was even a book called Weird Pennsylvania.. i will have to check this out..

    Awesome that you were practical.. year book and photo Albums.. yes! need those.

    I honestly wouldn’t save any books.. because I have read enough apocolypse / Disaster books to know.. the first and only thing I would be saving is my own ASS. Okay, well, and maybe my daughter and husband.. but the fuck if I’m gonna be out lugging heavy ass books around.. If its’ just a fire, they are replaceable, and if its’ something crazier.. I will loot the stores to replace my collection when I find a place to bunker down. lol.

    Reply
    • Honestly, it would be pointless for me to save any books anyway. I’d be killed with fire trying to run around and collect pets. The dogs would be right out the door but the freaking cats would probably be up inside a piece of furniture or some other place I couldn’t get to them. Once I’d succumbed to smoke inhalation they’d run across my lifeless body toward the safety of the open door, satisfied with a job well done.

      Reply
  3. love your senior pick! mind is just as bad. lol

    Reply
  4. Omg My high school yearbook! I would have never have thought of those but you’re so right I’d want to save them for sure!!

    Reply
  5. Clearly I am older than you as I fall in the “big hair” senior portrait category you mentioned:) But you’re right, yearbooks are something I would have never thought to grab. I live in Florida so I actually have a hurricane evacuation crate for my books, photo albums, and such, so I think I’ll go dig my yearbooks out and stick them in there too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

