TTT: Top Ten Books I’d Give a Theme Song To

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is supposed to be the top ten books I’d give a theme song too, but I don’t associate books and music much so I’m going to do it a little differently. Therefore, my countdown is:

Songs I’d Choose for the Soundtrack of The Fault In Our Stars

Great timing, since I just reviewed TFiOS, right? Here’s my ideal soundtrack for my most newly beloved book…

1. In the Aeroplane Over the Sea by Neutral Milk Hotel

Listen to the lyrics and it’ll be obvious why this song is THE song for Hazel & Augustus.

What a beautiful face
I have found in this place
That is circling all round the sun
What a beautiful dream
That could flash on the screen
In a blink of an eye and be gone from me
Soft and sweet
Let me hold it close and keep it here with me

And one day we will die
And our ashes will fly from the aeroplane over the sea
But for now we are young
Let us lay in the sun
And count every beautiful thing we can see

Sad and perfect, right?

2. Can I Call You Mine by The Long Goodbye

Possibly the dorkiest & most awkward love song ever, but somehow appropriate. And yes, that’s Michael Cera from Arrested Development/Nick & Norah/Scott Pilgrim fame.

3. All I Want by Toad the Wet Sprocket

One of the ultimate songs about living in the moment.

4. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out

Also a song that is (to me) all about living for the day and not worrying about what will happen in the future. Annnnd it’s pretty much my favorite song of all time, so I was excited to get to use it. The Smiths seem like a band that Hazel & Augustus would appreciate, both in terms of music and the magnificent snideness that is Morrissey.

5. Hoppipolla by Sigur Ros

A song that I find both happy and sad at the same time, kind of like TFiOS. Hazel also strikes me as someone who would appreciate Sigur Ros.

6. Brand New Colony by The Postal Service

Romantic sans cheese.

7. Adelaide by Old 97’s

A wistful song of a not-perfect relationship.

8. Sick of Myself by Matthew Sweet

They couldn’t all be slow songs. The lyrics to this one are just perfect.

9. I Will Follow You Into the Dark by Death Cab for Cutie

Maybe a little too literal? But whatever, it’s a good song.

10. If She Wants Me by Belle & Sebastian

It feels like this is the kind of song H&A would listen to on their picnic in the park.

**Bonus Track**

Amsterdam by Guster

Very obvious, but I couldn’t resist.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I LOVE Sigur Ros, but I only own Agaetis byrjun – I need to get the others. I think you’ve created quite a cool soundtrack for TFiOS! 😉

    Reply
  2. I love Toad the Wet Sprocket.. ❤ Particularly that song. I just remembered that you did review this book, but I was busy doing something and meant to come back to it.. running off to it now..

    Reply
    • Toad the Wet Sprocket was on constant rotation when I was in college. That and Mazzy Star, the Sundays, etc. Hooray for mid/late 90s college music!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

