Review: Partials by Dan Wells

Partials
By Dan Wells
472 Pages
Published by Balzer + Bray

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with partials–engineered organic beings identical to humans–has decimated the world’s population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. The threat of the partials is still imminent, but, worse, no baby has been born immune to the disease in over a decade. Humanity’s time is running out.

When sixteen-year-old Kira learns of her best friend’s pregnancy, she’s determined to find a solution. Then one rash decision forces Kira to flee her community with the unlikeliest of allies. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that the survival of both humans and partials rests in her attempts to answer questions of the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

Combining the fast-paced action of The Hunger Games with the provocative themes of Battlestar Galactica, Partials is a pulse-pounding journey into a world where the very concept of what it means to be human is in question–one where our sense of humanity is both our greatest liability, and our only hope for survival.

**ARC borrowed from the awesome Andrea at The Bookish Babes.**

I have come to the conclusion that in the aftermath of an apocalypse with limited survivors, I will end up a part of the splinter group who can’t follow the rules society sets down. Not because I’m violent or a troublemaker, but because the rules to rebuild society invariably suck. Especially regarding the treatment of women. Required baby milling? Really? It seems like many of these dystopian societies have rules that keep women popping out baby after baby in an event to repopulate the world. No thanks, I’ll take my chances with the crazy splinter group who opposes this law.

Also before I go any further, let me give extreme credit to Dan Wells for pulling off one of the best pop culture random name drops of all time by mentioning the Macon Whoopee. Anyone who has read my About Me page or spent more than 5 minutes talking to me knows how much I love hockey. No league has a better sense of humor than minor league hockey, and the Macon Whoopee actually existed. Wells fudged the dates as the Whoopee are already defunct, but who cares?

Actual Macon Whoopee logo.

I found Kira to be an interesting and complex heroine. On one hand, she’s smart, brave, and strong. She’s willing to die for what she believes in, namely to find a cure for the disease that is killing off babies as soon as they are born. On the other hand, she is willing to give up her civil rights for the greater good, which may sound noble but still fills me with a white hot rage. Maybe that’s just my issue, though.

I loved all of the science-y medical stuff as Kira tries to find a cure. I loved Samm, the Partial. For the most part, anyway. I loved that post-apocalypse NYC became a character of its own. As the characters were describing Manhattan it made me think of that History Channel documentary called Life After People (which is worth seeing if you haven’t already).

Partials is awesomely creepy, disturbing, and thought-provoking. As soon as I finished I ran to Goodreads to see when the next book is coming out (not until 2013…grrr).

4.75/5 Stars.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Ha ha ha at the pic of the car.. I was actually behind one a few weeks that looked like that.. I swear that womans Vagina opening had to be the size of a water mellon.. those kids probably living there a while, until they can just walk the hell out.

    One is enough for me! lol

    I got this in the mail btw, I meant to tell you! it came on monday. My post office hag/bitch/lady gave me trouble with it though because it just had my street address, no po box number, but she gave it to me anyway.. . I wanted to kick her in the face though when she gave me her classic..” I’m to busy to remember your box number even though you do ass loads of business with me ” glare. Whore!

    Anyhoos, super excited to read this. I sniffed the post it note you left for andrea, but I couldn’t get a feel for what you smell like. OH well, You should just mail me your panties next time.

    Reply
    • Oh shit, did I forget to put the post office box number on it? I am not smart. Sorry about that, but not sorry that your mail lady is a hag because anything that leads to amusing anecdotes is a-ok with me.

      FYI, I smell like a mix of liquor and the tragedy of unrealized expectations.

      Reply
      • LoL, yeah, no biggy.. people forget it all the time.. and the dumb Hag always has to make a stink about it to me.. I rather enjoy it.

        lmao about your scent.. I love your comebacks. ❤ I dont even have anything to say to that one.. because really, that's kinda sad.. I think I'd rather smell like fish. lol

        Reply
  2. You know, I was going to comment on the review, which kicked ass. But then I saw the comments and now I’m just thinking about overused vag and smells. Whatevs…
    Great review, Karen. You’re so darn smart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

