Review: Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath
By Brodi Ashton
370 Pages
Published by Harper Collins/Balzer + Bray

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals Feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she’s returned- to her old life, her family, her friends- before being banished back to the underworld… this time forever.

She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these months reconnecting with her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s a problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who first enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki to the mortal world. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back- this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time grows short and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she’s forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s…

Aside from various family, friends and pets, if there’s one thing in the world I love it’s…hockey. If there’s two things in the world I love aside from various family, friends, and pets, it’s hockey and sleep. So it’s not for nothing when I say that I ended up missing out on some sleep because I couldn’t put a book down, and this was the case with Everneath. To be fair I probably shouldn’t have started reading it at 10:30PM, but I wasn’t quiiiite ready for sleep yet. “Just a half an hour,” I thought. Ha. 250 pages later I put the book down only because I knew I’d literally be sleeping at my desk the next day if I didn’t.

There was a lot to like about Everneath. I like re-tellings of well-known myths, and this was a good one. Also, the Tunnels sounded terrifying, which is pretty central to the story. They really needed to sound scary in order to make the story tense enough to work. Even the love triangle worked for me, which isn’t generally the case. Here it was more of a love quadrangle, which posed some moral questions and difficult decisions for Nikki and made things more interested than the usual love triangle for the reader. You have the usual two guys and a girl triangle, and then throw in the girl’s female best friend and watch uncomfortable situations ensue. This is actually one of the rare times I’d have liked there to be more time spent on a certain relationship angle (not Nikki/Jack/Cole, the other one).

Nikki was an ok heroine. At first I had little sympathy for her, but as the book went on and more things were revealed I started to think that she wasn’t entirely responsible for her crap decisions. Cole was one of the more reprehensible characters I’ve encountered in a book in a while. I’m not sure if he was supposed to be appealing or not, but he wasn’t. At all. He’s almost likeable in an odd sort of way at times, but in no way romantically appealing. Apparently I’ve been around the block enough that the bad boy officially no longer appeals to me. I didn’t get why Nikki was kind to or tolerant of Cole at all. While she made her decisions out of hurt and confusion, Cole took advantage of her. He basically cheated, and I really hated him by the end of the book. Jack, on the other hand, I loved. I wish he would have gotten more page time but I suspect he will in the next book.

The ending filled me with a white hot filthy rage. I really hope some stuff is going to be resolved and things will go differently in the next book. Because…no. Just no. Seriously, this is a visual example of what the end of this book did to me:

This will not stand.

4.25/5 Stars.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love the cover of this book and look forward to reading it. Sounds really good! Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Heh. I love the gif.

    I’ve had this book since December. I don’t know why, but I just keep putting it off. This gives me hope and incentive to go ahead and read Everneath.

    Cole seems awful. And that has me scratching my head b/c I have friends that claim he’s the hottest thing ever. I think that’s b/c he plays guitar? Which actually doesn’t do a lot for me, but whatever.

    Great review, Karen. As always.

    Reply
    • That gif just killed me. I had to use it somewhere.

      You should give it a try. I wasn’t sure I was going to like it AT ALL but I saw so many positive reviews that I figured what the hell. I was pleasantly surprised. And yes, Cole is a complete douchenozzle. Playing guitar doesn’t do much for me either (though don’t tell that to my boyfriend, who plays the guitar). My ex-husband was a drummer and that did even less for me. I just need to find a singer/bass player, date him, break up with him and then I’ll have collected a whole set!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

