Review: Red Fox by Karina Halle

Red Fox (Experiment in Terror #2)
By Karina Halle
300 Pages
Published by Metal Blonde Books

With Book Two of the Experiment in Terror Series, Perry Palomino and Dex Foray trade in the stormy Oregon coast for the unforgiving deserts of New Mexico.

In the for­got­ten town of Red Fox, a Navajo cou­ple is tor­tured by things unseen and by motives unknown. Wild ani­mals slink through their house in the dark, a bar­rage of stones pound their roof nightly, and muti­lated sheep car­casses are turn­ing up on their prop­erty. Armed with a cam­era and just enough to go on, Perry and Dex travel to the des­o­late locale, hop­ing to film the super­nat­ural occur­rences and add cred­i­bil­ity to their flail­ing web­cast. Only their show has a lot more work­ing against them than just grow­ing pains. Tested by dubi­ous ranch hands, a ghost from Dex’s past, and shapeshift­ing decep­tion, the ama­teur ghost hunters must learn to trust each other in order to fight the most ancient of myths…or die trying.

Woo, more Dex and Perry! And even more tension of all different kinds between them this time!

I’ve made it no secret that I loved the first book in this series and I think everyone should read it, and I was super excited that I got to participate in the cover reveal for the 5th book in the series. It was also perfect timing, because I was in the middle of reading this book while it took place.

So this book is very heavy on Native American influences, and while I find Native American culture extremely fascinating, paranormal stuff having to do with their culture doesn’t normally do it for me. I was really pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book in spite of that! There were a lot of really tense/creepy scenes and a lot of times where I really believed that Perry and Dex were in danger. In fact, there was one scene in particular (the one outside the bar) where I was literally and figuratively on the edge of my seat.

My love/hate relationship with Dex continues in this book. On one hand, he’s very charming and he obviously cares about Perry and what they’re doing. On the other, he can be a complete and total dick and he’s super unstable. Whether that’s a result of his illness or not, at some point you have to wonder whether or not Perry wouldn’t be better just chalking him up as too damaged to be good for her and move on. The thing is, when he’s good to her he’s REALLY good to her and you keep rooting for him to come around and stop being such a bastard. As far as Perry goes, I still think she’s an awesome/kickass heroine.

I’m happy to say that I continue to really enjoy this series. In fact, as soon as I finished this book I immediately downloaded the  next one in the series despite having several library books looming on the to-read pile. And yes, I ended up getting fines for taking them back late. And I regret nothing.

4.25/5 Stars

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. WooHoo! I think you know I’m a big fan of the series. I think Red Fox is still my favorite. Something about the whole bar/bathroom scene has totally stuck w/me. I’m w/you on Dex. No one would love them to be together more than me. But… after so much asshole-ishness, I just want wants best for Perry.
    Great review, Karen. I’m happy you love this series!

    Reply
    • I know, I started reading this series because of your review of Darkhouse! And now I am in looooove. I owe you many thank yous!

      Reply
  2. Woot woot! I am sooooo glad you liked this book. This has become one of my favorite series. I love Perry. I love/hate Dex (as everybody does) and I really want them to be together because I think they’re perfect. But I don’t know how Dex is going to be. He’s a timebomb. Partially crazy. 🙂 This series is completely awesome. Great review!!!!!

    Reply
    • I think Dead Sky Morning is my favorite so far but I haven’t read Lying Season yet. Hopefully sooooon. I’m un-sold on Dex but I’m sure I’ll come around sooner rather than later. I never trust a man with a mustache.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

