Bout of Books 4.0 – Goals!

Next week I will be participating in Bout of Books 4.0. Bout of Books is a read-a-thon going on from 5/14 – 5/2o and it’s hosted by Amanda at On A Book Bender. In addition to lots of fun reading there are challenges, giveaways, twitter meet-ups, etc. Sign up!

So. In the interest of reading as much as possible (and because I’m, like, 10 reviews behind already) I won’t be posting reviews immediately. I plan to update pretty much every day and hopefully participate in a few of the challenges, but the actual reviews will come some time next month since my posts are already scheduled through the first week of June.

My goal for next week is to read 7 books. I average 4-5 so that’s a pretty big jump. I am hoping to actually do more than 7 because I am really trying to get some of my library pile out of the way in order to read all of the ARCs I have waiting for me. I’ve got some short and/or illustrated books near the top of the pile so doing 7+ should be doable.

Here’s the list of what I plan to read:

  1. The Children and the Wolves by Adam Rapp
  2. Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson
  3. The Girl in the Park by Mariah Fredericks
  4. Steampunk Poe by Edgar Allan Poe/Zdeno Basic
  5. White Horse by Alex Adams
  6. The Little Woods by McCormick Templeman (ARC)
  7. Long Lankin by Lindsey Barraclough (ARC)

Are you participating in Bout of Books? If so, please leave me the link to your goals so I can check them out!

Updates

Monday 5/14
Read: Last 101 pages of Masque of the Red Death, Titanic: Voices from the Disaster
Total Number of Pages: 405
Total Number of Books Completed: 1

Tuesday 5/15
Read: 52 pages of Steampunk Poe (DNF), 205 pgs of Mr. Funny Pants by Michael Showalter
Total Number of Pages: 257
Cumulative Number of Pages: 662
Total Number of Books Completed: 0
Cumulative Number of Books Completed: 1

Wednesday 5/16
Read: last 83 pgs of Mr. Funny Pants by Michael Showalter, first 150 pages of 50 Shades of Grey
Total Number of Pages: 233
Cumulative Number of Pages: 895
Total Number of Books Completed: 1
Cumulative Number of Books Completed: 2

I’m already falling behind on my goal! But I’ve decided to change up some of the books I originally picked. I’ve never been one to stick to a schedule.

Thursday 5/17
Read:
Last 364 pages of 50 Shades of Grey
Total Number of Pages:
364
Cumulative Number of Pages:
1259
Total Number of Books Completed:
1
Cumulative Number of Books Completed:
3

Friday 5/18
Read:
Nothing…booooo.
Total Number of Pages:
0
Cumulative Number of Pages:
1259
Total Number of Books Completed:
0
Cumulative Number of Books Completed:
3

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. You can definitely do 7! Best of luck! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Good luck on your goals and thanks for joining us!

    Reply
  3. Some really good picks on that list!!

    GOOD LUCK =D

    Reply
  4. louiselesley

     /  May 11, 2012

    good luck!!

    Reply
  5. I wish I could read 4-5 books a week. Good luck with your goals! I’m participating as well. It’s my first time.

    http://xjessiexbellex.blogspot.com/2012/05/setting-my-goals-in-steel-oh-i-mean-in.html

    Reply
    • Reading is the one luxury I won’t give up or skimp on, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to do that many a week. I’m sure it helps that I don’t have kids as well. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Great selection! I am trying for 7 too. You got it girl!!

    Reply
  7. I haven’t heard of most of those, but The Girl in the Park is really, really good. Good luck (I think 7 books can be achieved). =)

    Reply
  8. Lots of luck for reading 7! I’m hoping to get at least 3, since I’ll be busy πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. Good luck with your goals. Love your interesting titles. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  10. nice~good luck on your challenge. you can do it girl!

    Reply
  11. I really, really hope you’re able to read 7 books or more! You will do better than I will! Good luck!

    Reply
  12. I wish I could do 7 books! (I am aiming for 5). I hope you meet your goal!

    Reply
  13. I was obsessed with Titanic books when I was in elementary school. I bet that one’ll be interesting πŸ™‚

    good luck with your goals!!

    Sarah
    http://fortunefavors11.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  14. I’m aiming for 7 as well!! Good luck! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  15. Great progress so far! Keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

