Review: The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe

The Way We Fall (Fallen World #1)
By Megan Crewe
309 Pages
Published by Disney-Hyperion

From Goodreads:

It starts with an itch you just can’t shake. Then comes a fever and a tickle in your throat. A few days later, you’ll be blabbing your secrets and chatting with strangers like they’re old friends. Three more, and the paranoid hallucinations kick in.

And then you’re dead.

When a deadly virus begins to sweep through sixteen-year-old Kaelyn’s community, the government quarantines her island—no one can leave, and no one can come back.

Those still healthy must fight for dwindling supplies, or lose all chance of survival. As everything familiar comes crashing down, Kaelyn joins forces with a former rival and discovers a new love in the midst of heartbreak. When the virus starts to rob her of friends and family, she clings to the belief that there must be a way to save the people she holds dearest.

Because how will she go on if there isn’t?

This was a book that I was instantly curious about as soon as I read the blurb and I only became more curious as reviews started to come out because they were so all over the board – it seemed like some bloggers really loved it and others didn’t care much for it at all.  I fell firmly in the middle. I liked it but didn’t love it.

What I did like: that it takes place in the Canadian Maritimes, which is a part of the world that really interests me. I liked that it took place on an island, so the residents were really isolated and seemingly forgotten by the world once the quarantine was enacted. They really had no way of knowing what was going on anywhere else and that created a sense of urgency and terror. I also liked the characters – Kaelyn pretty much had her act together and was extremely giving to her fellow island residents considering the situation. The other characters were also a plus for me, especially Gav. I really liked him, and I really liked him and Kaelyn together. To me, he had the most layered personality and stole the book away from Kaelyn a little. I found that the parts of the book that he was in were my favorites for sure. I also liked the style of the book – it’s written as a series of letters to her friend Leo, who she hasn’t spoken to in two years and who is trapped off of the island at college while his family is stuck on the island.

What I didn’t like: there wasn’t really anything in particular that set it apart from other books of this type. That’s really the only/biggest drawback, but for me it was a big one.

So while I wasn’t totally blown away, I did like it well enough to want to read the second book in the series. I’m hoping it will wrap up a few outstanding story lines and give the already existing characters a little more development.

3.5/5 Stars

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Great review! I really enjoyed this one but it certainly didn’t blow my mind or anything. I thought Kaelyn’s voice seemed much younger than 16.

    Reply
    • You’re right about that, she did seem a little naive in some ways. I felt like she was probably very sheltered, especially growing up in such a small, tight-knit community.

      Reply
  2. I’ve also heard both sides about this book. It does seem good. But nothing makes it stand out and demand to be read, for me. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Great review, as usual!

    Reply
  3. good review! i don’t really like generic books that don’t come out with a fresh, well doesn’t have to be fresh, but something that makes it stand out…

    Reply
    • I agree. Dystopian has been done so much that I there almost has to be *something* different about it for it to really stand out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

