Review: Hourglass by Myra McEntire

Hourglass
By Myra McEntire
394 Pages
Published by Egmont USA
Publication Date: June 14, 2011

From Goodreads:

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.

So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.
Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?

Hourglass is one of those books that I definitely wanted to read but never seemed to get around to. When I requested & received the ARC of the second book in the series, Timepiece, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to read them together and review them on consecutive days. I loooove when I can read more than one book in a series without waiting so I was excited to get started with this one.

For me, this book started off with a bang. I really loved the first two lines and was sucked into the story immediately because of them: “My small Southern hometown is beautiful in the haunting way an aging debutante is beautiful. The bones are exquisite, but the skin could use a lift.” Isn’t that great?

Hourglass started off a little slow but picked up quickly, and once it gets moving it doesn’t really slow down. It keeps up a really good pace and there is lots of action and excitement. You also get to know and like the characters – Emerson manages to be tough without being obnoxious-stereotype tough (and she’s short – finally, a heroine that is short and not long-legged and model-esque!). She’s had a hard life and that fact is never far from the forefront but she’s dealing as well as she can with the hand she’s been dealt, and doing it with varying levels of success.

As far as the romance, I can’t believe I actually feel this way because I am NEVER – or apparently almost never – for the bad boy but I am Team Kaleb all the way in this one. Michael seems like a nice enough guy but he’s a little too goody-goody and his mysterious act got under my skin after a while. Kaleb may be the “bad boy” – at least, if you consider a guy who has tattoos, drinks beer, and gets around to be bad – but he was a completely open book. He said what he meant and he didn’t try to hide things or be something he wasn’t. I appreciated that about him. He also wasn’t a jerk like your typical bad boy. And I felt like he and Em had a lot more in common than Em & Michael did, with the exception of the obvious.

As far as villains, I kind of saw one of them coming although it was purely a guess. The other is a little more obvious but I wish he had played more of a role in the book. I have a feeling that will happen in the next book.

I liked that the ending left on a note that leaves the reader wanting more but wasn’t a sucker punch cliffhanger. In Timepiece I hope that there is more Lilly, more Kaleb, and more Jack. There’s a bit of an X-Men thing happening and I’d like to know more about everyone’s abilities – including lesser characters like Ava, Nate and Dune – and a little more about everyone’s pasts.

Highly anticipating the rest of this series and after reading Hourglass I’m totally fistpumping about being approved for Timepiece. Please check back tomorrow for my review of that one!

4.25/5 Stars

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I want to read this. Maybe I can find time during the summer. 🙂 Nice review.

    Reply
  2. I’ve always wanted to read this one. You fell for the bad boy?? I’m intrigued. I hear Timepiece is his POV.
    I’m definitely getting this one first chance I get.
    Great review!

    Reply
    • Yes. For like the first time ever I am totally in love with the bad danger boy. My Timepiece review is tomorrow and it’s from his point of view. I don’t think it’s a spoiler at this point to say that my review is going to be POSITIVE.

      Reply
  3. ya know, I have been wanting to read this. Ive been wanting to get around to buying it, but I just haven’t yet. Your review leaves me conflicted.. and here is why. You make this sound so good…

    but….

    Last week I saw this Author openly bashing another Author on Twitter. Granted, I agreed with her on many points, it still left a bad taste in my mouth. Bashing someone else for their ill-earned success isn’t going to further yours, and it’s just downright tasteless.

    That being said, I will borrow this one from someone, but I will not spend money on it.

    Reply
    • Your comment made me curious so I had to go and look. I had a feeling I knew who it was going to be about and I was right. I agree it’s not in the best taste but considering the review I’m thinking about writing for that particular book I can’t really cast any stones, ha ha. I would be a whole lot meaner than that, although to be fair a lot fewer people follow me/would care about my opinion.

      Reply
      • yeah, my review was not the best either, and I blatently make fun of the tampon scene in my trailer. Ive had 2 dislikes, can you imagine! lol It’s not a well written book. it’s a shame its so popular, since it’s technically fan fiction. I can understand why authors are upset. It just saddens me to see them react unprofesionally about it.

        Reply
        • I seriously can’t imagine getting dislikes on your trailer. That shit is funny, I don’t care whether you like the book or not (and for the record, I would cheerfully set my copy of that book on fire if it wasn’t on my kindle along with a bunch of awesome books). People have no sense of humor. It’s why I’m a little nervous to write the review, but whatever. The people who agree with me or find me amusing will laugh and the people who don’t will either fuck off and not come back or leave rude comments, which could be the funniest part of all.

          I should also mention that I’m not talking about Hourglass. It’s a different book that I want to set on fire.

          Reply
  4. I love this blog site layout . How was it made. It is rather nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

