Review: Timepiece by Myra McEntire

Timepiece
By Myra McEntire
336 Pages
Published by Egmont USA
Publication Date: June 12, 2012

From Goodreads:

A threat from the past could destroy the future. And the clock is ticking…

Kaleb Ballard’s relentless flirting is interrupted when Jack Landers, the man who tried to murder his father, timeslips in and attacks before disappearing just as quickly. But Kaleb has never before been able to see time travelers, unlike many of his friends associated with the mysterious Hourglass organization. Are Kaleb’s powers expanding, or is something very wrong?

Then the Hourglass is issued an ultimatum. Either they find Jack and the research he’s stolen on the time gene, or time will be altered with devastating results.

Now Kaleb, Emerson, Michael, and the other Hourglass recruits have no choice but to use their unusual powers to find Jack. But where do they even start? And when? And even if they succeed, it may not be enough…

The follow-up to Hourglass, Timepiece blends the paranormal, science fiction, mystery, and suspense genres into a nonstop thrill ride where every second counts.

**ARC provided by Egmont USA via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Egmont!**

Review contains spoilers for Hourglass.

Timepiece picks up a month after the events of Hourglass and everyone is still dealing with the fallout of Jack and Cat’s actions, Liam’s return, Emerson’s discoveries about exactly what Jack did to her, etc. And based on the way Hourglass ended, there’s definitely a feeling of waiting for the other shoe to drop in terms of Jack’s retaliation. It doesn’t take long.

Where Hourglass was told from Emerson’s perspective, Timepiece is told from Kaleb’s. I absolutely love it when books in a series are told from the perspective of different characters, and since Kaleb was my favorite from Hourglass I was so excited to see him become the MC in this one! He is, in my opinion, by far the most layered character in the series thus far and also the most likeable despite his “bad boy” image. It’s really cool to watch him grow as a person, watch him deal with the situation he’s been put into due to Jack’s treachery, and see how he deals with his “gift.”

Emerson and Michael become more periphery characters in this one and to be honest, I was kind of glad. While I liked Em in Hourglass, in this one I just found her to be kind of annoying. And since Michael never really did much for me in either book I didn’t mind at all that there was significantly less of him. There was, however, a lot more of Lily and I was glad for it. She turned out to be quite a lot more than just the sidekick/best friend and I ended up finding her to be even more of a compelling character than Emerson, particularly once she digs into her past. We still don’t get much info on Ava or Nate, and although Dune’s role expands a little bit he doesn’t get much character development. Possibly that’s something that will come in the future.

As far as the romance goes, I found it a lot more compelling in this book than I did in the last. I won’t give away any details, just that it seemed less forced and more natural.

Jack is back, of course, but the villains in this book are more far-reaching and complicated as we are introduced to more mysterious figures from “the powers that be”, Liam’s past, etc. Some of these are quite ruthless and there was one scene in particular toward the beginning of the book were I was actually pretty shocked. I was particularly impressed by Poe and I wish there had been more of him.

While the ending to Hourglass wasn’t super cliffhanger-y, this one was! It definitely makes me anxious to read the next book in the series and see where things go from here. I’m also interested to see who will be the main character in the next book. If McEntire keeps the pattern of changing it up it won’t be Kaleb (boo hoo!) but there are two characters in particular who I’d like to see become the focal point. I liked this one slightly more than Hourglass because I prefer Kaleb to Emerson, but both are definitely good reads.

4.5/5 Stars

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I’m happy to see you enjoyed this one! My copy of Hourglass arrived in the door this week so I’ll be starting on this series soon. 😀

    Reply
  2. I really wanted to read your review. But I didnt want a spoiler. Thanks for the alert!

    Reply
  3. I love Lily so much. I was so happy to see her not relegated to the boring BFF role. Even while reading Hourglass I hoped for what eventually did happen in Timepiece.

    Reply
  1. Review: Timepiece by Myra McEntire - The Busy Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

