Review: The Night She Disappeared by April Henry

The Night She Disappeared
By April Henry
240 Pages
Published by Henry Holt & Co
Publication Date: March 13, 2012

From Goodreads:

Gabie drives a Mini Cooper. She also works part time as a delivery girl at Pete’s Pizza. One night, Kayla—another delivery girl—goes missing. To her horror, Gabie learns that the supposed kidnapper had asked if the girl in the Mini Cooper was working that night. Gabie can’t move beyond the fact that Kayla’s fate was really meant for her, and she becomes obsessed with finding Kayla. She teams up with Drew, who also works at Pete’s. Together, they set out to prove that Kayla isn’t dead—and to find her before she is.

I was really excited to read this one because it sounded ubercreepy – kind of almost like an urban legend. I was definitely not wrong, it was extremely scary. The most frightening part is that stuff like this could and does happen. Strangely enough, while I was reading this book we sent out for pizza and ended up getting a female delivery driver. Eek. I refrained from saying anything to her like, “Hey, I’m reading a book about a female pizza delivery driver who gets kidnapped, isn’t that crazy!” Probably a wise decision because if someone said that to me I’d totally call the police.

The book is a really engrossing read with tons and tons of tension. It’s written in a style that’s supplemented with letters, police reports, etc. which I thought was really effective and not just gimmicky. It also had one of the best uses of alternating perspective chapters that I’ve ever read. Each of the perspectives is really interesting and adds something to the story.

I found Drew to be the most sympathetic character, maybe even more so than Kayla. He was more layered, I felt. I liked Gabie but not as much. Some of her behavior was just a little too over the top. I get that she was freaked out because it could have (and would have) been her, but at times she crosses the line into melodrama just a little bit and it makes me feel annoyed with her rather than empathetic. The only really unlikeable character – aside from the obvious one  – is the cop. He was just a total dick toward Drew and Gabbie and I couldn’t really see any good reason for it other than maybe he was just a total dick. I don’t know. His aggression toward them was bizarre.

I really don’t feel like I’m doing this book justice. It looked like something I’d enjoy but I liked it so much more than I thought I would. It literally had my stomach twisted in knots while I was reading it because it was just such a scary (and scarily possible) scenario. I mean, people disappear all the time and nobody ever sees them again. It really could happen. I blew through it in one sitting and found myself wishing that it was longer. Highly recommended!

4.75/5 Stars

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oooh, this is the best review I’ve read for this book. I’d kind of written it off. Now I definitely want to read it. Awesome review!

    Reply
  2. This book was one of the best books I have ever read. Other that So. B. It, this book was so entertaining. It was like one of those stories that you didn’t know what was going to happen next. I would defenitly recommend this book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

