Waiting on Wednesday: The Raft by S.A. Bodeen

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.

Robie is an experienced traveler. She’s taken the flight from Honolulu to the Midway Atoll, a group of Pacific islands where her parents live, many times. When she has to get to Midway in a hurry after a visit with her aunt in Hawaii, she gets on the next cargo flight at the last minute. She knows the pilot, but on this flight, there’s a new co-pilot named Max. All systems are go until a storm hits during the flight. The only passenger, Robie doesn’t panic until the engine suddenly cuts out and Max shouts at her to put on a life jacket. They are over miles of Pacific Ocean. She sees Max struggle with a raft.

And then . . . she’s in the water. Fighting for her life. Max pulls her onto the raft, and that’s when the real terror begins. They have no water. Their only food is a bag of Skittles. There are sharks. There is an island. But there’s no sign of help on the way.

Oh, lost at sea story. They always scare the crap out of me. Publication date is scheduled for August 21, 2012.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Ooh, I got this one from Netgalley and I’ve read it. It’s AMAZING and I’m waiting for it to come out too as I need a copy for my shelf! 😀

    Great pick 🙂

    Reply
  2. I hadn’t heard of this one, but it sounds so good! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    ~Mandi Kaye | My WoW

    Reply
  3. I want to read this too and damn i think i missed it on netgalley too 😦

    Reply
  4. Great pick! It does not surprise me at all to see this one. It looks great!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  5. This one sounds soo good! And I have two of Bodeen’s other books (The Gardener and The Compound) sitting on my shelf – I need to get to those soon, too! Great pick!

    Reply
  6. Um, wtf, I missed this on NetGalley! I would have been denied anyway, then there would have been tears in my beer. If I drank beer that is. I want to read this one so bad. I love lost at sea stuff. I blame Survivor. Huge fan of that show. lol.

    I also love that she looks busted on the cover. No make up, no frilly dress. That makes me happy.

    Reply
    • Right? Getting denied on netgalley is the worst. I got denied for one yesterday and I was all sad panda about it. I actually pretty much expected to get denied in the first place, but when it actually happened I was all, “nooooo.”

      It actually would have been pretty funny if she had been floating on the life raft in a frilly dress.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

