Armchair BEA

Banner by Nina @ Nina Reads

Armchair BEA is the event for the sad pandas among us who weren’t able to attend BEA this year for one reason or another.Β  So we will get to know one another virtually instead of face-to-face! Today we’re answering five interview questions. It’s a good thing I’m so fabulously interesting (I’m not fabulously interesting, that’s a lie).

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

Well. My name is Karen, I live in Pittsburgh, and I’m in my mid-30s. By day I work for a company that does advertising, by night I read books professionally (except I don’t get paid). I live in sin with my boyfriend of just over two years, two dogs, and two cats. I’ve been blogging for about seven months now. I got into it kind of on a whim – I was a regular reader of so many book blogs and one day I just thought, “Huh. I’m literate and I can form coherent sentences. Blogging looks like fun, I’ll give it a try.”

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

I am a huge huge HUGE hockey fan. Specifically the Pittsburgh Penguins. Like, season tickets, extensive wardrobe of jerseys, the whole works. In fact, the main reason I wasn’t able to go to BEA this year is because my downpayment for next season’s tickets came due riiight around the time I needed to put a new roof on my house, thus rendering me a pauper. The sacrifices I make.

What is your favorite feature on your blog (i.e. author interviews, memes, something specific to your blog)?

Um, probably my I Got Class(ics) reviews. They’re definitely not the most popular in terms of views/comments but they’re the ones I enjoy the most because I get to read books that I liked growing up and wax ecstatic (or occasionally snarky) on them.

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?

Well, my favorite post ever was probably Why YA? because it was really from the heart and all that jazz. My most popular posts ever in terms of page views were my review of/screed against Fifty Shades of Grey and my love/hate relationship with Twilight.

Have your reading tastes changed since you started blogging? How?

Not really. I pretty much like what I like and that’s not going to change at this point. That said, I have become really YA-heavy since it’s a YA book blog. I still read non-fiction and adult fiction as well.

Please comment below and leave a link to your questions! πŸ˜€

 

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Hi Karen, stopping by to say thanks for sharing your love of books with the on-line world. Book bloggers are awesome, and this seemed like a good week to simply say THANKS!

    Reply
  2. Loved your post, Karen! I love getting to know more about the bloggers whose sites I visit! πŸ™‚ One of my good friends is a huge hockey fan. I’ve never been to a game but I’d love to one day.

    My Introductory Post: here.

    Reply
  3. Nice to meet you! This is my first year doing Armchair, and I’m so excited to find new people! My questions are here: http://www.thinkingcatblog.com/2012/06/armchair-bea-introduction.html

    Reply
  4. Hi, hope you’re having a great Armchair BEA so far. πŸ™‚

    I love the reason you started blogging too πŸ™‚

    Here are my questions:
    http://bibliognome1.blogspot.com/2012/06/personal-interview-day-one-armchair-bea.html

    Reply
  5. Hey Karen!

    I used to have a big thing for one of the players on the Penguins team. And now I have no idea what his name is and I think hockey players are unattractive at best.

    πŸ™‚ I’m off to check out the fifty shades of grey post, I’m in the “not picking it up because of the hype alone” boat. And the “it’s probably horrendous” boat.

    Reply
    • I have a thing for hockey players too, kinda. I guess I have to since I live with one (albeit not a professional one!).

      You are right, it’s horrendous.

      Reply
  6. Hi Karen! Nice to meet you as part of Armchair BEA!

    When I came to America we went to an ice hockey game in San Diego. We didn’t have much of a clue as to what was going on but it was fun!

    Reply
    • Hi Marg! That’s one of the great things about hockey, you don’t necessarily always have to know what’s going on. πŸ˜€

      Reply
  7. Hey, a fellow hockey fan! Very cool. =) I mostly watch junior hockey, though, because even though I’m a Leafs fan by birthright I’m really sick of watching them lose all the time.

    Reply
    • I wish it was easier to watch junior hockey in the States! I honestly thought this was the year the Leafs were going to turn it around, they were looking good for a while there.

      Reply
  8. Welcome to Armchair BEA12, thank you for making me laugh more then once and out loud. I like your description of your night job.

    Reply
  9. That’s the luck I have… hockey tickets and new roof vs. BEA. Seriously… I have bad luck. Sorry to hear you needed a new roof, but ya that’s the sacrifices eh? Love that you have season tickets to hockey… my fiance would die for season tickets, but we just cannot afford them right now. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Yeah, they’re not really in my budget this year either but if I give them up I’d have to go to the end of the waiting list and I prob wouldn’t get them back for about a decade or so. Boo hoo!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

