Review: Torn by Amanda Hocking

Torn
By Amanda Hocking
324 Pages
Published by St. Martin’s Press
Publication Date: February 28, 2012
Source: Library

From Goodreads:
When Wendy Everly first discovers the truth about herself—that she’s a changeling switched at birth—she knows her life will never be the same. Now she’s about to learn that there’s more to the story…

She shares a closer connection to her Vittra rivals than she ever imagined—and they’ll stop at nothing to lure her to their side. With the threat of war looming, her only hope of saving the Trylle is to master her magical powers—and marry an equally powerful royal. But that means walking away from Finn, her handsome bodyguard who’s strictly off limits…and Loki, a Vittra prince with whom she shares a growing attraction.

Torn between her heart and her people, between love and duty, Wendy must decide her fate. If she makes the wrong choice, she could lose everything, and everybody, she’s ever wanted…in both worlds.

Alert: Spoilers for Switched

Torn picks up right where Switched left off, with all of the angsty stuff going on between Wendy and Finn post-Vittra offensive.

It makes me somewhat sad to note that I’ve gotten to the point in my life where I find princesses annoying rather than cool. When I was a kid, I was all about the princesses. I even remember throwing money into wishing wells and wishing that someday I’d find out I was a princess (which is pretty laughable considering the person I am today). But really, I’m just over it. The princess thing holds no mystique for me anymore. And it still holds no interest for Wendy either, who is more annoyed by the entire thing than excited.

I initially thought that Torn wasn’t going to hold my attention the way that Switched did because it started off rather slow. I was wrong, I ended up getting really interested in it. That said, it does suffer from a bit of second-book-in-a-trilogy-itis. It’s a lot of character development and plot movement with no real payoff, which is true of most middle books in trilogies (in my experience, anyway).

The more I read the more I wondered why Wendy doesn’t just take off and tell all of these lunatics to go to hell. I mean, they’re basically planning her life out for her, making decisions for her, and she doesn’t even like most of them. Especially when she learns what her “strong connection” to the Vittra is. And for as much as she’s willing to be sassy with her mother and tell off the people around her, she never really takes any definitive action. And at times she’s oddly pliable, which seems to go in direct opposition to her nature. Some of her decisions just boggled and bugged, to be honest.

Boo to Finn in this book. As endearing as he was in Switched, he’s equally douchey in this one. I was pretty disappointed as I loved the whole forbidden love angle between him and Wendy and I usually most definitely do NOT love forbidden love angles. I was kind of meh about the introduction of Loki for most of the book and I didn’t know why everyone thought he was so awesome. Even at the end of the book I didn’t really get it, until I read the bonus short story at the back. I’m still mostly Team Finn but this is one case in which I can see myself being swayed in the other direction depending on how the next book goes.

Despite being a little slower due to being the middle book in the series, it’s still very worth reading and I’m looking forward to reading Ascend.

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I liked this series. I read it when she was still an indie writer, so I’m curious to see if any of the story has changed. I really liked her My Blood Approves series, but she’s stuck on it right now. 😦 Nice review!

    Reply
    • I never read anything by her during her indie days. I’d actually be curious to see if anything has changed as well.

      I keep meaning to look into the My Blood Approves series, thanks for the reminder! 😀

      Reply
  2. Man…I just did not dig Switched. I hot so tired of Wendy’s bitchiness. I did like Finn, though. But now that he’s being an asshat?
    I’m glad you liked the story. Your review was so entertaining, as always. If only you wrote books….

    Reply
    • Yeah, Wendy is tough to take. I liked the secondary characters (namely Finn and Rhys) enough to end up liking the book but it was in spite of her and not because of her.

      Reply
    • Also, I wish I could write books. I may be decent at stringing sentences together but I have noooo imagination. Like, at all. I tried doing NaNoWriMo once a few years ago and it was an unmitigated disaster. I ended up with about 1/3 of a book that was basically The Lovely Bones if Alice Sebold had taken a blow to the head before writing it. In my defense I hadn’t read TLB (yet) but I did know the gist of what it was about so I must have ripped it off subconsciously.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

