WoW: Unwholly (Unwind Trilogy #2) by Neal Shusterman

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Thanks to Connor, Lev, and Risa — and their high-profile revolt at Happy Jack Harvest Camp — people can no longer turn a blind eye to unwinding. Ridding society of troublesome teens while simultaneously providing much-needed tissues for transplant might be convenient, but its morality has finally been brought into question. However, unwinding has become big business, and there are powerful political and corporate interests that want to see it not only continue, but also expand to the unwinding of prisoners and the impoverished.

Cam is a product of unwinding; made entirely out of the parts of other unwinds, he is a teen who does not technically exist. A futuristic Frankenstein, Cam struggles with a search for identity and meaning and wonders if a rewound being can have a soul. And when the actions of a sadistic bounty hunter cause Cam’s fate to become inextricably bound with the fates of Connor, Risa, and Lev, he’ll have to question humanity itself.

Rife with action and suspense, this riveting companion to the perennially popular Unwind challenges assumptions about where life begins and ends—and what it means to live.

I loved the first book in this series so, so much and I was so excited to see that the next one is due out on August 28, 2012. I can’t wait!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Wow. That is one creep-tastic cover. Unwholly looks to be right up your alley. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Damnit! Andrea stole my comment! LOL That really is a creepy cover. Hope you love it!

    Reply
  3. Wow, this is the 1st time i have seen this cover. I heard about the first book on youtube when someone reviewed and she was so passionate about it i thought OMG i have to read it. I then discovered there was a sequel…this one. I think the first book came out quite a while ago she said. I will read them back to back one day 🙂 They seem brilliant!! New subbie to your blog 🙂 x

    Reply
  4. This does sound pretty interesting, and I love the idea that it’s a Frankenstein reimagination. Unfortunately Unwind was the most traumatic book I ever read. I read the last 100 pages late one night and couldn’t go to sleep for a long time and that when I did I had nightmares. I still shiver whenever I think of that one chapter – and I’m sure you know exactly which chapter I mean. I love the questions of morality that Schusterman brought up, but I can’t deal with the graphic nature and trauma of the book. I’ll definitely read reviews of the book though; I am curious what happens next – I just can’t read it myself!

    Reply
  5. I read it today (got an ARC at ALA) and it’s AMAZING! And the reveal of what the cover means is creepy cool. LOVED it.

    Reply
  6. also
    Congratulations, I have given you the ‘Liebster Blog Award’ for your blog 🙂

    Please check out this page;
    Your blog award

    xxx

    Reply
  7. I can’t wait for this one either! I read Unwind last year and I have never quite been able to sit down and review the book. Not because I didn’t enjoy the book, I did, but it was a pretty gut wrenching, intense read for me. I am VERY anxious to see what Neal Shusterman has in store for us in Unwholly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

