Review: Glimmer by Phoebe Kitanidis

Glimmer
By Phoebe Kitanidis
352 Pages
Published by Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 17, 2012
Source: Library

From Goodreads:

When Marshall and Elyse wake up in each other’s arms with zero memory of how they got there or who they are, it’s the start of a long journey through their separate pasts and shared future.

Terrified by their amnesia, the two make a pact to work together to find the answers that could jog their missing memories. As they piece together clues, they discover they’re in the idyllic mountain resort town of Summer Falls, where everyone seems mysteriously happy, but as Marshall and Elyse quickly learn, darkness lurks beneath the town’s perfect facade. Not only is the town haunted by sinister ghosts, but none of its living inhabitants retain bad memories of anything—not the death of Marshall’s mom, not the hidden shame in Elyse’s family, not even the day-to-day anguish of high school.

Lonely in this world of happy zombies, Marsh and Elyse fall into an intense relationship…but the secrets they uncover could be the death of this growing love—and the death of everyone, and everything, they love in Summer Falls.

OK, unladylike as it is, the first word that comes to mind when I try to describe Glimmer is “mindfuckery.” Imagine dropping 70 hits of acid and watching a David Lynch marathon and you’d have a pretty good idea of what I’m talking about. There’s a lot going on initially and it’s hard to keep it all straight, and coupled with the fact that the two main characters have absolutely zero idea what’s going on – or who they even are – it makes for some serious looking like this:

Photobucket

Once it gets rolling, though (pardon the pun) it’s a really engrossing read. Elyse & Marshall are interesting characters, particularly Elyse. She’s the kind of strong female heroine that you actually want to see in YA. Granted, at times she borders on stubborn and almost petulant, but for the most part she’s fantastic. And as her back story is revealed you begin to feel genuine empathy for her. Same with Marshall. I found him less interesting but his story was still very readable. Watching them try to unravel their identities, their pasts, and how they ended up the way they did kept me pretty much riveted.

I really liked how everything was (mostly) resolved at the end. I am not the type of reader who likes the “fill in the blank” endings –  in fact, I find them somewhat rage inducing – so I was satisfied with how everything played out. In fact, I really enjoyed the second half of the book. I was still somewhat unsold until I got to the halfway point but the second half really swayed me off the fence.  The only thing I would change is that I wish Elyse and Marshall would have had more distinct voices. Sometimes I found myself forgetting whose chapter I was reading. Overall I liked it a lot, though.

4/5

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hmmmm very interesting!

    Reply
  2. My first thought when I saw this book was that horrible fucking movie with mariah carey. Glitter. lol

    and that model looks a little like britney spears. Before she shaved her head of course.

    I might have to check this one out since you liked it.

    Reply
  3. I’m glad you liked this. I thought Glimmer was messed up, in an awesome way of course. Those ppl were freaking lunatics!

    Reply
  4. I just picked up this book at the library, and it sounds really different. Hope I can keep up! Glad there is some sort of satisfying resolution at the end. And I like books with dual pov so that also makes me more excited to read it. Fab review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

