Review: Glitch by Heather Anastasiu

Glitch
By Heather Anastasiu
320 Pages
Published by St. Martin’s Press
Publication Date: August 7, 2012 (expected)
Source: Netgalley

From Goodreads:

In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.

When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers.

As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.

OK, if there is one thing that creeps me out it’s a super hyper-ordered society. Well, if I’m being honest there are a lot of things that creep me out. Spiders. Weird meats. The hair on the floor in beauty salons. But Stepford societies are definitely also one of them. And Glitch? Is one of those Stepford societies. For real. It actually reminded me a bit of The Giver, which I didn’t especially love (I actually liked Glitch better) but it has some of the same hallmarks. Very repressed people in a very regimented society. Emotions are blocked from happening because, the folks are told, they previously led to a nuclear war. Thus, everyone is really, really boring. Those who glitch and experience emotion – like Zoe – are in grave danger of being reprogrammed at best and deactivated (or killed) at worst.

I definitely liked the book overall but there were a couple of things that bothered me. One big one was Adrien’s speech patterns. At first I thought I was just being overly picky, but as the book went on it really started to chafe. He uses these crazy made-up swear words and he does it A LOT. Too much. I also had some issues with the insta-love, but there was an interesting twist there at least. And the love triangle left me feeling kind of cold, but that’s true of most books.

That said, there was more I liked in Glitch than not. I thought that the story itself was pretty unique. It was somewhat of an amalgam of other dystopians, but all put together it definitely had a plot that I hadn’t seen before. I thought Glitch was a really good debut. It had some really nice twists and turns and an ending that left me wanting the next book.

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hmm very interesting! I’ll probably read this within the next few books so good to know! Nice review 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hyper-ordered societies creep me out too! I didn’t like The Giver (yeah) so I’m curious to see what I would think about this. I get it when an author wants to use futuristic speech patterns since change in speech is to be expected but it sounds like it was overboard here. Great review!

    Reply
  3. I agree that super regimented societies are creepy beyond belief. That being said, I actually loved The Giver. It was probably the first dystopian novel that I read and liked. If Glitch feels like a combination of dystopian books including The Giver, then I’ll probably have to read it when it comes out.

    Reply
  4. Giselle

     /  July 10, 2012

    Bahaha, The hair in beauty salons!!! So icky!! And Spiders! haha. I love your face! This book has been getting to many mixed reviews I’m really curious to read it to see which side I fall on haha. The society definitely sounds intriguing! Great review, love!

    Reply
  5. Andrea @The Bookish Babe

     /  July 10, 2012

    Is it weird to say that I can’t even work up the will to read this? I mean, I want to, but there was so much hype that it turned me into a grumpy pants. And then I hear that Tris is whiny in this. And i get why she’s upset and all, but I’m just not in the mood. Plus, Insurgent is a thick book. Dang, I like my books in 300pgs or less. But still, I will read this and I’m sure I’ll like it. Great review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

