Review: Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil
By Wendy Higgins
454 pages
Published by HarperTeen
Publication Date: May 1, 2012
Source: Library

From Goodreads:

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

Let’s talk about Sweet Evil, shall we?

This is one of those books that it seemed like everyone in the blogosphere was just totally raving about. Just like, crazy in love with this book. Ha, I thought. I’ll bet I’ll be the one person who doesn’t like it. As it turns out, I was wrong. I did like it. But I’m not completely head over heels with it the way a lot of people are.

For one thing, I just can’t do angels. I don’t know why. I really don’t. I love Castiel on Supernatural and I liked the whole angels storyline they had going on that show, but with the exception of Daughter of Smoke and Bone I really just can’t get into books about angels. So there’s that. And technically that shouldn’t really be a complaint here because these particular angels are fallen. They lean more toward the demon side than the angel side, so that was a point in Sweet Evil’s favor. I do love evil creatures.

But here’s the thing – Kaiden. Everyone loves him. Everyone but me. Don’t get me wrong, I empathized with him. I could even see how Anna would be totally into him. But you guys, he was a MAN WHORE. Granted he was compelled into it by his father and that totally sucks the big one for him, but still. Man Whore. He’s the Deuce Bigalow of the fallen angel world. He’s like a doorknob, if you know what I mean. And no matter how dangerously attractive a guy is, no matter how he’s obviously into you, there comes a point where you have to really take into account how many places that equipment has been. He was an awesome character, don’t get me wrong. But I couldn’t get all twitterpated over him.

Anna comes off initially as kind of a joyless buzzkill. She’s just absurdly naive and it makes her seem even younger than she is. She grew on me as the book went on and it was cool watching her mature as she learned about her heritage and what was expected of her. And her dad. OMG. Let’s just say that if there is a guy in the book I can see getting all twitterpated over, it’s him. He’s an awesomely bad man.

Lest it sound like I didn’t like the book, I did. Quite a bit. But with all of the rave reviews that have been posted I didn’t want to just add more of the same. I am definitely interested in reading the sequel, particularly considering how this one ended.

4.25/5

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Very nice review! I’m not one for books about angels myself (in fact, I don’t think I’ve read any of the ones that are out right now), but good to know that it’s still good! I’ll keep in on my radar and I’m sure pick it up eventually to see how I feel about it 🙂

    Reply
  2. I think the reason most people find kai so compelling is the fact he’s stuck. He doesn’t WANT to be the man whore. It’s either whore it out or well…die. So in that sense he’s also a victim, though I’m sure he’d never call himself that, and you can’t help but sympathize with that, especially when we’d get those glimpses of him hating what he does. my 2 cents 😉

    Reply
    • I totally agree with that. He’s a tragic figure for sure. It’s just for me, I don’t think I could want to get all sweaty with a guy who had already been with scores and scores of women by the time he was, like, seventeen. You know? lol

      Reply
  3. I can’t wait to read this book! Kai sounds yummy. Nice review.

    Reply
  4. I did really enjoy Sweet Evil. And yeah, I’m not always crazy about the bad boys. But I do like bad boys who want to be good. Glad you did enjoy this overall. Great review!

    Reply
  5. Molli - TN

     /  July 12, 2012

    I can always trust you for the BEST reviews, Karen! I’ve absolutely been there before with a book, thinking, “uh, there’s NO WAY I’ll like this one like everyone else does.” Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t. I clicked emotionally with Anna, so I had a great experience reading Sweet Evil. I thought she was really strong and showed a lot of potential. Kaiden…yeah, you know, I can see what you mean. I felt terrible for him, and I liked him, but I don’t know that I’m still swooning over him or anything. 🙂

    Molli | Once Upon A Prologue

    Reply
  6. I agree with this! When I read this book, I was like “?!?!?” I am so confused about my feelings on this book, everyone seems super into Kaiden while I was eh. I didn’t really like Anna either, joyless buzkill is write, but she did improve over the book. One day, I will try to re-read this book to assess my feelings properly. Great review!

    Reply
  7. I’m glad you enjoyed this! I’m with you about everything! Everyone was completely raving about it and although I liked it, I wasn’t IN LOVE with it ya know? Kai was hawt yea but….lacking something kind of. But I did LOVE her dad. He was so awesome. Anna was naive and it got a little irritating at times. Overall I thought the book was really good. But hopefully the next will be even better! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

