Tune In Tuesday: July 17, 2012

Tune in Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Ginger at GReads. And this? This is the best category EVER. My teen years. And today is very special because I’m doing a ladypeople edition of Teen Years Tune In Tuesday! Sorry gents, it’s all ladies all the time today.

Vague disclaimer: not everything I listened to as a teen was current.  I listened to a lot of 80s new wave and stuff you’d hear on First Wave on Sirius, plus a lot of 80s stuff. I’m not as old as you might believe based on some of these selections. Ahem.

Violet by Hole. Sweet mother of satan, this woman is a hot mess. She might actually be a bigger trainwreck now than she was back then, and that’s truly a dubious accomplishment. I like her music, though:

 

Fade Into You by Mazzy Star. The ultimate school slow dance song by one of the best in the truly depressing shoegaze genre. For a lesser known and just as good Mazzy Star song try Halah:

 

Push It by Garbage. Shirley Manson is so badass. I still want to be her when I grow up:

32 Flavors by Ani DiFranco. A staple of the late 90s college experience.

 

St. Theresa by Joan Osborne. One of Us ended up being her big song but this is her best song. IMO, anyway.

 

Call Me by Blondie. I really believe that every woman who embarks on a music career has a secret desire to be Deborah Harry:

 

Please link yours up in the comments below so I can creep on you the way God intended.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Loved EVERY.SINGLE.ONE!

    Reply
  2. Oh damn. You picked some kick-ass fems from your teen years! I liked Hole’s music too.. Celebrity Skin was a favorite of mine. St. Theresa is my fav Joan Osborne song too, ha! Nice picks this week.

    Reply
  3. elena

     /  July 17, 2012

    I LOVE 80S NEW WAVE!! You’re so right about Mazzy Star being the slow dance song and I love Call Me SO MUCH.

    Reply
  4. I heard Call Me by Blondie (really like it) but that’s it! Thanks for sharing!

    If you would like to check out my Tune In Tuesday, “CLICK HERE“.

    Kayla @ Bengal Reads

    Reply
  5. I can’t believe I forgot Garbage. I love the picks.

    Reply
  6. I love Call Me It gets stuck in my head.

    Reply
  7. I haven’t listened to Garbage for ages! You’re right though, Shirley Manson is a badass 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

