Review: Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday

Deadly Cool
By Gemma Halliday
303 Pages
Published by HarperTeen
Publication Date: October 11, 2011
Source: Purchased

From Goodreads:

Hartley Grace Featherstone is having a very bad day. First she finds out that her boyfriend is cheating on her with the president of the Herbert Hoover High School Chastity Club. Then he’s pegged as the #1 suspect in a murder. And if that weren’t enough, now he’s depending on Hartley to clear his name.

But as much as Hartley wouldn’t mind seeing him squirm, she knows he’s innocent, and she’s the only one who can help him. Along with her best friend, Sam, and the school’s resident Bad Boy, Chase, Hartley starts investigating on her own. But as the dead bodies begin to pile up, the mystery deepens, the suspects multiply, and Hartley begins to fear that she may be the killer’s next victim.

Oh, Hartley Featherstone. How I adore you. You’re the most Veronica Mars-y character since Veronica Mars. That’s totally the vibe of this book. I was almost waiting for Logan Echols to pop out of the woodwork and be all hot and kind of endearing while still sort of a pompous jackass at the same time. If you are a fan of VM, this is the series for you. But that’s not to say that it’s a rip-off or anything. It’s not. They just share some similar and excellent qualities.

Anyway, what? Oh yeah. Hartley. She’s fab-u-lous. Smart mouthed and ready for pretty much anything, which makes for a very entertaining combo. And Chase. In a long line of blah book boys, Chase stood out for me. I’m not sure if it was the shitty old Camaro or the Star Wars bed sheets. But he was cool.

I had read quite a few reviews of Deadly Cool before reading it myself so I kind of knew what to expect, but I was still a bit surprised by how funny it is. Usually when I hear that something is funny I get all suspicious and reserve judgment because I have an awkward and often inappropriate sense of humor that doesn’t always match up to the whole “polite society” thing, but I really did laugh out loud a few times while reading this. Hartley’s inner monologues and the dialogue in particular are both really funny and/or clever.

So really, can I stop raving here and say something negative? Eh…yes and no. I did kind of suspect fairly early on who the killer was, though I wasn’t sure. I don’t consider that too much of a negative, though, because it was as much as guess as it was a suspicion.

So will I read the next book in the series? Already ahead of you, bro. Check back tomorrow for my review of Social Suicide.

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Can’t wait to read this one! Andrea really liked it too. Sounds like I’ll love her snarky personality. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ooh this sounds like a good one. I’ve never seen Veronica Mars. Maybe I should?

    Reply
    • Oh girl! Yes, you should see Veronica Mars! I poo-poohed it when it first started airing on tv but it took me exactly 15 minutes to get hooked when I saw my first episode.

      Reply
  3. I read both books back to back recently. They are so fun! Love your review – you make me want to check out Veronica Mars.

    Reply
  4. I adore this series. Hartley just cracks me up so much. And Chase…sigh. He’s just too cool and I love how he just stays calm amidst all of Hartley’s shenanigans.

    I am thrilled you liked Deadly Cool. I can’t wait for your review of Social Suicide. And I must watch Veronica Mars!

    Reply
  5. I used to be a big fan of Veronica Mars but not so much anymore. I started this book but dropped it after getting bored and flipping to the end. People seem to really like it though so I want to try to give it another shot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

