Review: Social Suicide (Deadly Cool #2) by Gemma Halliday

Social Suicide (Deadly Cool #2)
By Gemma Halliday
277 Pages
Published by HarperTeen
Publication Date: April 24, 2012
Source: Purchased

From Goodreads:

Twittercide [twit-er-sahyd]: the killing of one human being by another while the victim is in the act of tweeting.

Call me crazy, but I figured writing for the Herbert Hoover High Homepage would be a pretty sweet gig. Pad the resume for college applications, get a first look at the gossip column, spend some time ogling the paper’s brooding bad-boy editor, Chase Erikson. But on my first big story, things went… a little south. What should have been a normal interview with Sydney Sanders turned into me discovering the Homecoming Queen-hopeful dead in her pool. Electrocuted while Tweeting. Now, in addition to developing a reputation as HHH’s resident body finder, I’m stuck trying to prove that Sydney’s death wasn’t suicide.

I’m starting to long for the days when my biggest worry was whether the cafeteria was serving pizza sticks or Tuesday Tacos…

**May be minor spoilers for Deadly Cool**

So if you were here yesterday you know that I reviewed the first book in this series, Deadly Cool. And I liked it. I LOVED IT.

 PhotobucketObscure SNL Grumpy Old Man reference.

In Social Suicide,  Hartley has found herself ensnared in another mystery at school when yet another classmate turns up dead, this time by Twittercide (an act that I have found myself considering committing several times). And that’s just the beginning. While I still compare this series first and foremost to Veronica Mars, not since Sunnydale have this many teenagers died under mysterious circumstances.

Your favorite so-cool characters are back. There’s Hartley, of course, who is still funny as hell and almost seems to suffer from a mild form of Tourette’s. Chase is still Chase, meaning that he’s casually hot and manages to not be a complete douche about it. The tension between Hartley and Chase is still pretty thick and you start to wonder if they’re ever going to get together already. There’s also quality sidekick action from Sam, who is still trying to clean up her language and still suffering through Hartley’s schemes.

I do have a question, though. Much ado is made in this book (and many, many others) by kids who claim a need to be perfect and get excellent grades because otherwise their parents won’t be able to afford to send them to school. Is there some kind of bizarro world where parents foot the bill for college and I don’t have to spend the rest of my natural life paying back student loans? Did I get cheated somewhere? Just curious.

Like the last one I did think that this one had a sliiightly predictable ending – maybe even more predictable because it didn’t come so much out of  left field like the one in Deadly Cool. It actually was a better motive and made more sense. Either way, it didn’t bother me or take away from my enjoyment.

Gemma Halliday, please to be writing another book in this series soon. It’s one of my new favorites.

4.25/5 Stars

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. YAY! You’re getting me really excited about reading this series! As far as college tuition, my parents handed the bill over to me when I decided to marry my now EX-HUSBAND (whom they didn’t hate, but not quite approved of either) before I finished college. #AutumnFail

    Reply
    • Oh, killer. That’s a decision you’d probably like to have back. It was always just pretty much accepted that I was going to pay for college. My parents took out a couple of PLUS Loans to make up what the Stafford Loans didn’t cover, but I paid (or more accurately, am currently paying) for 90+% of the history degree I’m not currently using.

      Reply
  2. “Chase is still Chase, meaning that he’s casually hot and manages to not be a complete douche about it.” <—– YES! Chase is a role model for all the cool, non-bad boy, wannabes.

    I'll admit, there's a lot of predictability in this series, but it's so fun I don't care. Can you even imagine how hilarious the next book will be??

    I'm so happy to have a friend to fan-girl over this series with!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

