Review: dancergirl (WiHi #1) by Carol Tanzman

dancergirl (WiHi #1)
By Carol Tanzman
248 Pages
Published by Harlequin
Publication Date: November 15, 2011
Source: Library

From GoodReads:

Ever feel like someone’s watching you? Me, too. But lately it’s been happening in my room.

When I’m alone.

A friend posted a video of me dancing online, and now I’m no longer Alicia Ruffino. I’m dancergirl. And suddenly it’s like me against the world.— everyone’s got opinions.

My admirers want more, the haters hate, my best friend Jacy,— even he’s acting weird. And some stalker isn’t content to just watch anymore.

Ali. Dancergirl. Whatever you know me as, however you’ve seen me online, I’ve trained my whole life to be the best dancer I can be. But if someone watching has their way, I could lose way more than just my love of dancing. I could lose my life.

Stalkers. Is there anything creepier? I’m going to say no. For as scary as vampires and zombies and ghosts can be, there is something just way more scary about real life dangers, and for women I don’t see how stalkers couldn’t be way near the top of the creep-out list.

As far as Alicia goes, she was a bit of a mixed bag for me. On one hand, I thought she seemed like a generally cool girl and a dedicated dancer. And let me tell you, there are things that I do well but dancing is NOT one of them so I have nothing but respect for people who can dance without looking like they’re in dire need of the Heimlich Maneuver. On the other hand, she makes some genuinely dumb and confusing decisions with regards to what’s going on in her life. I get not wanting your parents to find out that you’ve been doing something you shouldn’t have been doing. I do. Frankly I’m glad YouTube either wasn’t around or wasn’t a thing when I was in high school because if my parents ever saw video of some of the stuff I got up to I would probably still be grounded. But man…somebody is STALKING YOU. Somebody is taking videos of you without your permission and putting them on the internet for every Tom, Dick, and Dorkface to see. That is serious business. That is ‘tell your parents’ business. ‘File a police report’ business.

The character I did sorta fall in love with was Jacy, even though he was something of a douche for a lot of the book. There turned out to be an acceptable reason for it and I was glad, because I felt somewhat attached to him and I felt myself hoping that the weird romantic tension between him and Alicia would turn into something, even though BFFs dating works out, like, one out of a hundred times.

I kind of saw the end of the book coming having guessed who the stalker was. It was mostly a guess, to be fair. There was just something that made me think “guilty.”  That said, it was still tense and enjoyable. I will definitely be reading the next book in this series, although I believe they are stand-alone books.

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Glad you liked it! Sounds like I would be creeped out.

    Reply
  2. This one sounds interesting…even though it’s honestly one I have never been interested enough in to consider reading. The MC sounds a bit frustrating, yet it does seem like the book has something to offer! Thanks for the review, Karen!

    Reply
  3. I’ve heard this is a pretty good book. Don’t know if I should read it since I’m positive someone’s looking in my windows every night.

    Thank goodness there was no YouTube in the 90s!

    Great review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

