Tune In Tuesday: July 24, 2012

Tune in Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Ginger at GReads. And this? This is the best category EVER. My teen years.

Note: not everything I listened to as a teen was current.  I listened to a lot of 80s new wave and stuff you’d hear on First Wave on Sirius, plus a lot of 80s stuff. I’m not as old as you might believe based on some of these selections. Ahem.

Today is a bit of a hodgepodge. Some alt stuff and some hip-hop.

Crank by Catherine Wheel. Baby Jesus, the crush I had on this man…and he still looks good, tbh.

Hey Jealousy by Gin Blossoms. I really had so much love for this band and for this song in particular:

Personal Jesus by Depeche Mode. This one was kinda sorta before my time but people were still dancing badly to it by the time I was in high school (and probably still are, actually):

Send Me On My Way by Rusted Root. These guys were kind of my intro to “world music” – as broad a term as that is. And they’re from Pittsburgh so…bonus points:

No Woman, No Cry by Bob Marley. I think I’m one of the few people on earth who was actually into Bob Marley before college, when it became almost compulsory to listen to him (or at least, it was in the late-90s…the dorm I lived in even had an obnoxious mural of the Legend album cover painted on the wall. get a grip.). My dad liked reggae so I was exposed to it pretty early which, looking back, is way cooler than I gave him credit for at the time. My favorite of his is actually Redemption Song but this one is more well-known and less depressing. Seems like a lot of talented people die young:

Around the Way Girl by LL Cool J. I still love this man. He is my forever boyfriend:

California Love by Tupac. Such a waste that he died so young (lyrics are probably NSFW):

Please link yours in the comments below and I’ll stalk your face!

ETA: so that it can never be said I can’t make fun of myself, some pics of me as a teen. Note the big-but-not-quite hair. Fortunately I narrowly missed the giant hair phase in high school.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, I was a cheerleader. I’m not proud (I’m in the middle):

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Graduation. White did nothing for my figure or complexion.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love that we listened to the same stuff. LOL LOVE your pics!

    Reply
  2. I love Depeche Mode! California Love is a great track too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

