Review: Of Poseidon by Anna Banks

Of Poseidon
By Anna Banks
336 Pages
Published by Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: May 22, 2o12
Source: Library

From Goodreads:

Galen, a Syrena prince, searches land for a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. It’s while Emma is on vacation at the beach that she meets Galen. Although their connection is immediate and powerful, Galen’s not fully convinced that Emma’s the one he’s been looking for. That is, until a deadly encounter with a shark proves  that Emma and her Gift may be the only thing that can save his kingdom. He needs her help–no matter what the risk.

It’s rare that I see a book that has had so many diverse reviews – both positive and negative – so it was with a certain amount of glee that I dove into Of Poseidon. And the pun was definitely intended there. Boom. Which side of the fence would I come down on? The very disappointed or the totally riveted? Somewhere in the middle, as it turns out. But I definitely lean toward the positive.

This is my second mermaid book after I finally got past my “mermaids are way too weird even for me” phase, the first being Lies Beneath (which I liked). I think I’m on board with the mermaid thing. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I can see how a book about mermaids could basically turn into a cheese log if not done well, but fortunately this one was done well.

I liked Emma. Quite a bit more than I initially thought I would, actually. It’s fun to watch her realize who she really is and try to adjust to her new found merpowers (is merpowers a word? it is now.). As far as Galen I found him to be…a little more underwhelming. Not that he wasn’t chock full ‘o personality, because he was, I just didn’t necessarily like him that much. I found him kind of annoying and even borderline misogynistic with all of his “she belongs to Grom” crap. Uh, dudebro, you live among humans enough to know that telling most women that she belongs to a man goes over about as well as a lead balloon falling on your momma. Or at least, you should know that by now. Ask your human assistant. The fact that Galen’s sister had also been married off to a (mer)man without her permission and in her absence – SHE WASN’T EVEN THERE – did not sit well either. I don’t care if she hated his face or if she was in love with him and just playing coy.

Homey don’t play that.

You just don’t do that.

I also wish that there had been a little more about the underwater kingdom and whatnot. When I think mermaids, I think huge mermaid city like Atlantis filled with awesome sea creatures and beasts. We actually get very little of that so I’m hoping there’s more in the next book.

What really swung me to the positive side and made me say, “Yes, I need the sequel” was the very end. Whoa! Didn’t see that one coming and I won’t give any spoilers other than to say that it’s quite the plot twist. In some ways I probably should have guessed it but I give credit to Anna Banks because I just didn’t. At all.

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I love this cover and I love mermaid books, but I haven’t been pulled to this one. Not sure why. Maybe I’ll read it at some point. Glad you liked it!

    Reply
  2. I think this may be one of the next ones I read. I’ve heard so many great things about Anna Banks’ humor and that made me really anxious to pick it up. I’m not big on mermaids either, but if it’s written well, that shouldn’t really matter, right? 🙂

    Reply
  3. I’m so glad you reviewed this b/c I just made a trade for Of Poseidon. Something about the book draws me. I think it’s Anna Banks’ personality. I’ve heard the book has a lot of her humor. I’m actually more excited to read this now. Thanks for a great review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

