Review: The Dex Files (Experiment in Terror #5.7) by Karina Halle

The Dex Files (Experiment in Terror 5.7)
By Karina Halle
Published by Metal Blonde Books
Publication Date: August 13, 2012
Source: eARC from Author

From Goodreads:

The truth is out there…

The Dex-Files is a compilation novel that accompanies the Experiment in Terror Series and is not to be-read as a stand-alone. In the Dex-Files we find a variety of scenes and chapters from the enigmatic Dex Foray’s POV from books #1-6 in the series. Some of these scenes have been previously published, albeit from Perry’s POV, while other scenes are completely new.

In addition to it not being a stand-alone, the novel also contains some major spoilers and should be read only by those who have read all the published books in the series.

**As per the above, this book shouldn’t be read until you are completely caught up with the series. This review may contain spoilers for the earlier books in the Experiment in Terror series, though I will try to keep to general comments**

Listen…I’m not going to say that I wait with baited breath for every book in this series, but I may or may not have just been discussing forming a Creepy Karina Halle Stalkers Club with Jessica from Hackeroo’s Reviews. So draw your own conclusions there.

I was extra excited to see that there was a book coming out from Dex’s perspective instead of Perry’s. Don’t get me wrong, I love Perry more than my luggage, but Dex…Dex is easily the most maddening character I know of in any book, ever. The guy is a total enigma. One minute you want to profess your undying love to him, the next you want to beat him mercilessly with a wiffle ball bat. Mostly you want him and Perry to be together, but sometimes you want her to kick him to the curb so hard. I was really looking forward to getting inside Dex’s brain and figuring out what he’s all about.

Much of the book is scenes from previous books in the series written from Dex’s perspective. And while you may think, “meh, already read it” it’s SO different from Dex’s side. It really and truly is. Even though you will recognize the scene, it’s like something completely new. In my case, I went back and read the original scenes from Perry’s perspective afterward because I’m a huge nerd. And a few of the chapters are completely new, stuff from before Perry ever came into the picture or just stuff that Perry wasn’t involved in.

After reading the first chapter of The Dex Files, I have a whole new appreciation for Dex.  He still can make me crazy like no other character but I view him in a very different light after reading about his childhood.  I feel like in future books I’m going to find myself rooting for him more than I have in the past. You will absolutely love Dex when you’re done reading this. If you already love him, you’ll love him even more.

It’s worth reiterating again – do not read this until you’re caught up on the series. You’ll be very sorry and because it’s pretty much non-stop spoilers. And if for some reason you haven’t read this series, YOU GO NOW and do it.

AND! There are two giveaways you can enter to win! Note: links below will take you to the sites hosting the giveaways since I can’t currently embed Rafflecopter (I know, I know, I’m upgrading to self-hosting soon).

USA/Canada giveaway from Sinfully Delicious Reviews

International Giveaway from Escapism From Reality

Good luck!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Great review! I want in on this creepy stalker club. 😉

    Reply
  2. I love Dex. I need to get caught up in the series!

    Reply
  3. I also didn’t think I could love Dex more but The Dex files made me change my mind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

