Review: Lying Season (EIT #4) by Karina Halle

Lying Season
By Karina Halle
Published by Metal Blonde Books
Publication Date: December 13, 2011
Source: Purchased

From Goodreads:

Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about.

At some point people are going to start thinking that I’m full of shit when I review books from this series because I rave like some kind of lunatic fangirl on crack about how great they are. I swear, I am not on Karina Halle’s payroll. I just really like this series. For reals.

First off, it’s the fourth book in a series so there may be spoilers. I’m going to try to avoid them but once you get this far along in a series it can be pretty tough to even remember what a spoiler *is* anymore and what’s just general knowledge. If you haven’t read the rest of the series, I really can’t recommend enough that you do so.

While I didn’t think that this was the creepiest/scariest book in the series so far (that would be Dead Sky Morning, holla) it is definitely the most gut-wrenchingly emotional. And when I say gut-wrenchingly I mean “reaching into your guts, grabbing a big nasty handful, pulling them out and wrapping them right around your face.” Angstville, population two. Plus the Dex & Perry sexual tension/drama is off the charts in this one. Those crazy kids.

While it’s not the scariest of the series, that’s not to say that it doesn’t have its moments. Karina Halle’s descriptions of ghosts always get me. They’re never just people who are all pale or whatever. They are full-fledged gross out crawling with bugs, smashed and rotting, dripping various bodily fluids etc. And the ghost in this one is personal, which added a nice layer to the story. And..AND. We finally learn a bit about the creepy clown lady.

All that said, and as much as I love Perry, she does something terribly disappointing in this book. Like, heartbreaking for those of us who root for her. It was a really bad thing and I can’t help but wonder how it’s going to come back to haunt her in the next book, because it’s got to happen. No doubt. I still think she rules, but man…Perry, wtf? It was an interesting choice to do with her character for sure, though. Dex is the one whose behavior readers are used to being disappointed by.

And while I’m on that topic, he does a doozy in this one. Man, that guy.You never really know whether you want to love him or hate him and it usually ends up being a little from column A and a little from column B. Certainly he runs the gamut of both columns in this book. And yes, I realize that I’m talking about these characters as if they’re actual people. Chalk it up to good character development.

Here’s a minor spoiler…if you like the sexy business, you’ll be in luck with this book. Oh, and I am forever a Karina Halle fan because there is actually a Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure reference. Oh. Muh. Gawd.

4.5/5 Stars

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awesome review. I fall in love w/you when you talk about EiT.
    Have you read On Demon Wings yet?? That book is effing brilliant. And Dex….yeah. I loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

