Looks Like We’re In For Nasty Weather: Storm by Brigid Kemmerer

Storm
By Brigid Kemmerer
353 Pages
Published by Kensington
Publication Date: April 24, 2012
Source: Purchased

From NetGalley:

Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys all the ones she doesn’t want. Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming.

I need to learn to stop being so suspicious of books that everyone loves. Because I’m pretty sure that’s my nature…when everyone loves something, I assume that I’m going to be that one stooge who is either lukewarm or outright dislikes it. Fortunately in this case my fears were unfounded because I am in love with this series.

The stars of the book, obviously, are the Merrick brothers who are super duper hot but not all that likeable initially (and in some cases, pretty much ever). Nick seems ok but the rest of them have attitude problems of varying degrees from Chris’ aloofness to Michael’s out-and-out aggressive dickishness.  Usually unlikeable characters are the kiss of death for me with books, but for whatever reason I was ok with them in this book. Even though they weren’t particularly nice they seemed to have lots of layers and potential to change their ways. They were interesting enough to make up for their shortcomings. Initially I felt like I could take or leave Becca but the longer the book went on the more I warmed up to her.

I know I for sure enjoyed this book because I read it so freaking fast. As far as readers go I’m probably faster than average, but I’m not super fast. I like to take my time and will often re-read certain sections that I like a lot or that I want to get a really good grasp of.  I’ll often see people say that they went through a book in 2-3 hours and that rarely happens with me. Technically I didn’t do this one in one sitting, but that’s only because I had to feed my pets. I did what I needed to do and rushed right back to keep reading.

I didn’t think it was perfect, which is why I only gave it 4.5/5 stars. There is a love triangle and it’s definitely not one of my favorites. It’s pretty obvious who Becca’s going to end up with and although the triangle itself actually did play into the story (which is always a bonus as opposed to the superfluous love triangle) I think I’m just a little burned out on love triangles in general. The good news is that there’s no insta-love. There’s insta-attraction and insta-lust, but nobody is meeting someone and immediately declaring their undying love for him or her. So yay for that.

Things clicked into place about mid-way through for me and I pretty much figured out what was going on, but that was ok. There were still some small surprises and the characters kept me thoroughly engrossed. I will definitely read the next book in this series…oh wait! I already did! And I’ll be reviewing it tomorrow, so stop back. I will be reading the two companion novellas asap as well.

4.5/5 Stars

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m seeing this one all over the place. Glad you enjoyed it. Sounds like a series I’ll have to try. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I thought I wanted to read this , but, you love it?! I must read The Elemental Series now! I’m kicking TbR ass, then I’m kicking Elemental ass. Code for: I’m going to read this as soon as I catch up.
    Love your review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

