My Boyfriend’s Back: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Cold Kiss
By Amy Garvey
304 Pages
Published by HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 20, 2011
Source: Library

From Goodreads:

After her boyfriend is killed in a car accident, high school student Wren Darby uses her hidden powers to bring him back from the dead, never imagining the consequences that will result from her decision.

I’m not sure where to start with Cold Kiss. I guess I’d say that while the book is positioned as a paranormal romance – and it is – to me, it was primarily about the loss of a loved one and the feelings that come afterward. Granted, Wren doesn’t have to deal with them for very long since she brings her boyfriend back from the dead, but she has a whole other group of feelings and problems to deal with.

Wren’s decision is one that I think many of us would make if we had the means to do so. I mean, it’s easy to say that when a loved one dies we just need to cope and let go, but let’s be really honest…at least in my case, there are people in my life who I would bring back if they were to die and I had the ability to do so. I would. No hesitation. Screw letting go. I don’t think I’m alone in feeling that way. And like Wren, I’d have to deal with the fallout of that decision. And there is plenty of fallout. Too late Wren realizes that she has acted selfishly and made a huge mistake.

Poor Danny. Any time Danny popped up I couldn’t help thinking about that line from Pet Sematary when Judd says “Sometimes dead is better.” In Danny’s case, being brought back from the dead was not the optimal outcome for him. Or for Wren. It was really pretty heart-wrenching and while Wren was the main character, Danny was the one who I found most sympathetic. He was truly the innocent victim.

While I really liked Cold Kiss a lot, I did have a few problems with it. I would have liked more info on why Wren was able to do what she could do, other than just that it ran in her family. I also think it might have added to the story if there had been consequences for Wren. I mean, other than having a very awkward situation to deal with. And Gabriel. Hm. I liked him well enough but didn’t feel super strongly about him. Wren, however, did. I found it a little suspect that a girl who loved her boyfriend enough to bring him back from the dead would have feelings for another guy so quickly. I mean, even if Danny hadn’t come back, he had only been “dead” for three months. I’m not saying she should have gone around in sack cloth forever, but it just seemed a little strange to me.

I had many questions left when the book ended and I’m hoping that they’re all answered in the sequel. Will they be? Stop back tomorrow for the answer, as I’ll be reviewing Glass Heart. Huzzah!

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Oh man, I loved Cold Kiss so much. And you raise some good point regarding Wren. I think I was too wrapped up in my despair spiral that I didn’t even think about it. I’m glad you enjoyed Cold Kiss. Isn’t Garvey’s writing so beautiful? Nice review!

    Reply
  2. I know Andrea is looking forward to this one too. Nice review. I’ll have to check it out.

    Reply
  3. I need to get on with reading this one. It sounds like although it left you with some questions (which will likely bug me too,) it’s still an enjoyable read! Great review, Karen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

