Soon Turned Out Had a Heart of Glass: Glass Heart by Amy Garvey

Glass Heart
By Amy Garvey
336 Pages
Published by: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 18, 2012 (expected)
Source: Around the World ARC Tours

From Goodreads:

Wren can do things that other people can only dream of. Make it snow on a clear, crisp day. Fly through an abandoned tunnel. Bring a paper bird to life.

Wren knows her abilities are tinged with danger—knows how easy it is to lose control—but she can’t resist the intoxicating rush. And now that she has Gabriel by her side, someone who knows what she can do—what she has done—she finally feels free to be herself.

But as Wren explores the possibilities of her simmering powers, Gabriel starts pushing her away. Telling her to be careful. Telling her to stop. The more he cautions her, the more determined Wren becomes to prove that she can handle things on her own. And by the time she realizes that Gabriel may be right, it could be too late to bring him back to her side.

So after reading/liking Amy Garvey’s Cold Kiss I was really interested to read Glass Heart. And while I mostly liked it, I had more problems with this entry into the series than I did the first.

First off, since I’m fresh off of reading the first book, there are some things that are still bothering me about Cold Kiss that I was hoping would be resolved here, and for the most part they just weren’t. First and foremost, I still can’t help but feel that things ended a little too easy for Wren in the last book, like there should have been greater consequences for her actions. I mean, hi, SHE BROUGHT HER DEAD BOYFRIEND BACK TO LIFE. And then realized that – uh oh! – this might not be such a good idea when he started getting progressively weirder (and deader). And also when she met a new boy. Granted, she did come to the realization that keeping Danny around was a bad idea somewhat independently of Gabe, but man…it would have been nice to see her do the right thing without a guy to fall back on. But anyway, it is what it is. I just felt like aside from some what I considered to be fairly minor guilt considering that what she did was horrific, she got off a bit too clean. To Amy Garvey’s credit, though, Wren doesn’t act like Danny never existed in this book. He is mentioned from time to time, usually as a result of Wren’s guilty conscience or as a point of comparison between her relationship with Gabe & her relationship with Danny. Which, I dunno, came off as kind of macabre considering the events of the last book. But again, whatev. I was hoping that this book would tie into the last and not pretend like Danny never existed, and it did. So yay.

I’m also still a little fuzzy on Wren’s power. I mean, firstly, WHY does she have it? I get that it runs in her family, but why? Where did it come from? I did like that it was explained why Wren’s power seems to be so ‘roided out compared to her mom’s. I thought it was a nice little touch, so even though I didn’t really get the questions answered to my satisfaction I did like that the idea of the source of her powers was built upon a bit.

See, here’s the thing for me – I can’t stand Wren. I am just now realizing that as I’m writing this review, but I can’t. She’s just one of those people who can’t resist doing the dumb thing every chance she gets, and inevitably it blows up in her face and the faces of anyone within a 5 mile blast radius. She can’t not make terrible decisions. She hides things from the people who care about her and gets herself into precarious situations on the constant. I just…don’t really care for her much at all. She even acknowledges that she’s doing dumb shit out of vengeance or or anger or whatever and then when someone has the balls to call her out on doing something that she herself has admitted was a totally bonehead thing to do, she has a hissy fit, bursts into tears, and storms out of the room/house/building. Literally. She does this at least three times that I can remember. She’s constantly bursting into tears and running away. And the thing is, main characters I don’t like are usually a kiss of death for me, but in this case it really wasn’t. Amy Garvey must tell a really good story because even though Wren is the kind of girl I’d like to kick in the neck, I kept right on reading and let it slide.

I also can’t figure out what Wren & Gabriel’s relationship is all about. She mentions repeatedly that she really doesn’t know anything about him, yet she loves him. Really? I mean, it’s nice that she notices little things like how he bites his lip when he reads, but that isn’t knowing someone. That’s noticing their affectations and maybe loving how you feel when you’re around them, but sorry boys and girls, you have to know someone to love them. Feeling infatuated is not the same thing as being in love.  She’s also always comparing Gabe to Poor Dead Danny – usually in a negative way – so that was kind of a head scratcher as well. And Gabe…just…I don’t get why he didn’t kick her to the curb multiple times because her behavior was off the charts bratty for much of the book. The boy must be a fictional saint.

I realize I’m kvetching endlessly about this book and it’s probably giving the impression that I didn’t like it, but that’s not the case. I just liked it less than the first one so maybe I’m focusing more on the negative whereas with Cold Kiss I focused more on the positive. I didn’t love Glass Heart and I certainly had some problems with it (obviously), but I didn’t dislike it. I’ll most likely read the next book in the series.

3.5/5 Stars

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

