I’m Burnin’ For You: Burn for Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

Burn for Burn
By Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
368 Pages
Published by Simon & Schuster BFYR
Publication Date: September 18, 2012
Source: NetGalley

From Goodreads:

BIG GIRLS DON’T CRY…
THEY GET EVEN.

Lillia has never had any problems dealing with boys who like her. Not until this summer, when one went too far. No way will she let the same thing happen to her little sister.

Kat is tired of the rumours, the insults, the cruel jokes. It all goes back to one person– her ex-best friend– and she’s ready to make her pay.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. And she’s ready to prove it to him.

Three very different girls who want the same thing: sweet, sweet revenge. And they won’t stop until they each had a taste.

Perhaps surprisingly considering how much YA I read, this is my first book by either Jenny Han or Siobhan Vivian. I know, I know, clutch your pearls. I’ve got books by both of them on my tbr list, I just haven’t gotten around to any of them yet. Still, when this came up on Netgalley I was intrugued – a book co-written by two authors that I’m interested in checking out, and with a plot that sounds like something straight out of guilty pleasure tv? Yes please.

The thing that really made this book work for me were the characters. While the three main characters were likeable to various degrees – Kat I loved, Lillia I was less than crazy about, Mary was ok but I was kind of ambivalent on her – they are all well-developed and feel very real. The same is true for the more minor characters, the type of which are often overlooked in other books and come off as cardboard or one-dimensional. Not so in this book. The likeable characters have depth and the hate-able ones are so delightfully hate-able.

I loved the little (and not so little) revenge plots that are hatched by the girls. So devious and some of them really take a lot of balls to pull off. Part of what makes them so great is that you’re really rooting for the targets to get what’s coming to them because they are truly repulsive. I have to say, this is one of those books that really make me remember how glad I am to not be in high school anymore. These are some vicious people.

Overall, I was really surprised by how much I liked this book. I mean, I expected to like it, I don’t read books that I don’t think there’s a good chance I’ll like. But I figured it would be a fun little guilty pleasure book that I’d enjoy while reading and then move on immediately afterward. Actually, it turned out to be a book that I spent quite a bit of time thinking about when I was done reading. And when I got to the end I was outraged until I realized that it was the first in a series. FIST PUMP.  I’ll for sure be looking forward to book two.

The only thing that bothered me at the time was that there ended up being a slight supernatural angle that I didn’t think was necessary, but upon further thought I’m kind of intrigued as to where it’s going to go.

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love Jenny Han’s Summer Series. Maybe I’ll check this out. Thanks for the review!

    Reply
  2. Woman!! I haven’t visited you in a while. I”m sorry for that. I’m a lazy bitch. No really, I usually visit blogs at work. but I have been busy. Bleh.

    I requested this, they never denied me, but never approved me either. I do love Jenny Hans work though so I’ll have to pick it up when it’s available. Her Summer series is the shit. So stop fondling your pearls and get on that!

    Love your review, I’m super excited for this.. although the whole supernatural angle, whats that about? that has me worried, but curious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

