Every Day I’m Shufflin’: Every Day by David Levithan

Every Day
By David Levithan
304 Pages
Published by Knopf BFYR
Publication Date: August 28, 2012 (expected)
Source: NetGalley

From Goodreads:

Every morning, A wakes in a different person’s body, a different person’s life. There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

With his new novel, David Levithan has pushed himself to new creative heights. He has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love in A’s world, as A and Rhiannon seek to discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day.

This is it, kids. My first David Levithan. And holy shit, what took me so long? I get it. I get why he’s so revered amongst YA readers & bloggers. The man can write a truly engrossing and emotional book. So while I’m pretty sure you can be arrested in the YA community for never having read Levithan, call off the dogs because I have finally seen the light.

The thing I loved most about this book is Levithan’s writing. It’s simple yet packs such an emotional wallop. It made me laugh and it definitely made me teary eyed on a few occasions. I found myself so engrossed in A’s life (lives) and so invested in what happened between A & Rhiannon.

Aside from the writing, I loved seeing what kind of body A was going to wake up in from day to day. It was cool to live vicariously as A gets to live out so many different kinds of lives – male, female, rich, poor, attractive, unattractive, etc. You never knew what obstacles A was going to have to face on a daily basis. It was cool to have one main character but so many different main characters, if that makes sense.

I thought it was an awesome choice to make A sexless – in other words, it’s unknown if (s)he is male or female. This really added a layer to the story, IMO. Not only do A and Rhiannon have to deal with A’s “condition” of waking up in different bodies every day, there’s also the question of whether or not Rhiannon will be able to accept someone who doesn’t conform to her previous ideas of what her sexual preference is. In fact, there is one day where A wakes up as a gay guy headed to a Pride parade with his boyfriend, and he delivers what is my favorite quote of the book: “We come to a corner where there are a few people protesting the festivities. I don’t understand this at all. It’s like protesting the fact that some people are red-haired. In my experience, desire is desire, love is love. I have never fallen in love with a gender. I have fallen for individuals. I know this is hard for people to do, but I dn’t understand why it’s so hard, when it’s so obvious.” The world would be a better place if everyone felt this way and just minded their own business about what other consenting people do in the privacy of their own bedrooms, IMO.

Levithan’s writing reminds me a little of John Green, but not really. Makes sense right? It’s hard to describe. They’re both a cut above other writers, in my opinion. Their prose is simple but smart, never condescending or “writing down” to a YA audience, and never resorting to tired old tropes in place of making difficult choices. Both write books with a very powerful emotional factor that makes me want to lock myself in a room with their entire backlists and read until my eyeballs fall out.

Also, in the acknowledgements he thanks his editor and says “I love it when I’ve got wheels and you want to go for a ride.” This has to be a reference to the Magnetic Fields song “The Luckiest Guy on the Lower East Side” and I’m afraid that I may now have to quit my job and stalk Mr. Levithan semi-professionally.

5/5 Stars

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I want to read this one. He was in Decatur, but I missed seeing him. 😦

    Reply
  2. Giiiiirl! There’s a group of us in love with this man, so join us! We have cookies! 😀 I’m glad to hear this book is amazing because I’m really looking forward to it. Thanks for the awesome review!!

    Reply
  3. Great review. I haven’t read this one yet. I’m a new RSS follower — saw you at GReads!

    Reply
  4. Great review! This is just such an interesting and new kind of love story and I want to read it so very much. I haven’t had the pleasure of reading any of his work yet, but I want this one to be my first as well. Also, great interview at Greads! New follower 🙂

    Reply
  5. Yay for your first David Levithan! I’ve read a few by him and am definitely a fan. I can’t wait to finally read this one. I’m currently #16 on my library holds, haha. It has such a unique premise and I love his prose too. Fantastic review! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Yay I’m glad this was your first Levithan book! I just loved this book too. I can see the John Green comparison, and they did co-author Will Grayson together so I’d put them in the same family too. Awesome review 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

