Flame On! Scorch (Croak #2) by Gina Damico

Scorch (Croak #2)By Gina Damico
332 Pages
Published by Graphia
Publication Date: September 25, 2012
Source: ATW ARC Tours

From Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old Lex Bartleby is a teenage grim reaper with the bizarre ability to damn souls. That makes her pretty scary, even to fellow Grims. But after inadvertently transferring her ability to Zara, a murderous outlaw, Lex is a pariah in Croak, the little town she calls home.

To escape the townspeople’s wrath, she and her friends embark on a wild road trip to DeMyse. Though this sparkling desert oasis is full of luxuries and amusements, it feels like a prison to Lex. Her best chance at escape would be to stop Zara once and for all—but how can she do that from DeMyse, where the Grims seem mysteriously oblivious to Zara’s killing spree?

**Contains spoilers for Croak, so proceed at your own risk**

Remember earlier this year when I was fangirling all over Croak? No? Well, let me refresh your memory. Obvs I loved the book since I gave it 5/5 stars, and contrary to how many I’ve given lately (I’ve been on a good run) I don’t rate that many books five stars. So when I had the opportunity to join an ARC tour of Scorch, this was me:

Literally. I have that same bib.

Anyway, as much as I wanted to read Scorch I wasn’t totally free of trepidation. I knew I was either going to love it or feel the sense of crushing disappointment that can only come with a sequel that doesn’t live up to the original. And…I LOVED IT. THANK YOU AGAIN, TINY INFANT BABY JESUS.

This series is just so much freaking fun. I almost don’t even know what else to say about it. The world it takes place in is just so awesome that the town itself is like a character. I want to live in Croak. Fun is the best word to describe this series.

It is really easy to pick up after the events of the last book. This is always a concern for me when reading a series because my mind is basically a sieve when it comes to details. Fortunately it was really easy to pick up where the last book left off and the little details that did escape me were quickly and subtly filled in by Damico.

As fun as the book is, there is also a very serious side to it. The stakes are greatly raised from the events in Croak and Zara has gone completely off the rails. There is more violence, though most of it is discussed secondhand. And! There is an addition of a new-ish villain who is not as evil but every bit as calculating and probably more hateable than Zara. So yay for that!

There were also a few surprises. Damico is not afraid to kill off her characters, I’ll give her that much. Cordy in the last book and more than one shocker here. I can’t wait to see what results of these events in the next book.

So much love for this series.

4.5/5 Stars

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I skimmed your review since I still haven’t read Croak (LAME!). I’m excited to see that you loved it. Thanks for the baby gif!

    Reply
  2. yay i’m glad this didn’t disappoint you! i know how much it sucks when sequel takes a nosedive in quality so i’m glad it wasn’t the case here. croak is really fun and i may check this one out. great review!

    Reply
  3. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely helpful information specially the last
    part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this
    particular info for a long time. Thank you and
    best of luck.

    Reply
  1. Scorch (Croak #2) by Gina Damico | Around The World ARC Tours

Leave a Reply

