Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl
By Gillian Flynn
432 Pages
Published by Crown Publishing Group
Publication Date: June 5, 2012
Source: Purchased

From Goodreads:

“‘What are you thinking, Amy? The question I’ve asked most often during our marriage, if not out loud, if not to the person who could answer. I suppose these questions stormcloud over every marriage: What are you thinking? How are you feeling? Who are you? What have we done to each other? What will we do?'”

Just how well can you ever know the person you love? This is the question that Nick Dunne must ask himself on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police immediately suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they aren’t his. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone. So what did really did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife? And what was left in that half-wrapped box left so casually on their marital bed? In this novel, marriage truly is the art of war…

 
OK, here’s the thing. It’s almost impossible to review this book without giving spoilers. And this is the kind of book where anyone who gives spoilers should be put into a metal box and shot into the sun. Seriously. So this review will be short and sweet, giving only the facts and not saying much other than the bare essentials.

To begin with, the book has two POVs. Nick’s and Amy’s. Some of Amy’s are told in diary format after she disappears. I hated both of these people yet their stories are both compulsively readable.

This book is really, really twisty and turny. Don’t even try to figure out what’s going on, because you won’t. Even if you figure out the basics, you won’t really get the whole picture. This is a book that completely fucked with me, to put it bluntly. It blew my mind all over my face. What’s up is down, what’s black is white. It made me alternately sad, nervous, and outraged. Mostly outraged. I spent a lot of the book completely appalled and filled with loathing for certain characters.

I really don’t know what else I can say without giving anything away. It’s one of the best books I’ve read this year and one of the most emotional and disturbing books I’ve read ever. I finished this book two weeks before writing this review and I’m still thinking about it. If you are in the market for a book that will challenge you and make you feel all of the feelings, you definitely should give this one a go.

5/5 Stars

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. My mom read this and loved it. Glad you did too!

    Reply
  2. When I started this book, I thought, “Ok. A well-written, interesting mystery, somewhat formulaic.” Hah! Was I wrong….

    Your review was nicely done. Hard to not give anything away….

    Reply
    • First off, kudos to you for the no-spoiler review! I imagine that was pretty tough. I’ve had this book on my TBR list for quite some time now and the premise sounds a lot to me like the movie Double Jeopardy. I love all the twisty turns and can’t wait to read it! Good job, lady!

      Reply
  3. This book is so far removed from the type of books I feel most comfortable reading. But I do want to read a little more adult fiction and I am kind of intrigued by how many surprises and apparent plot twists this book has. I am normally resistant to the super popular bestsellers these days, but this may be something that I will have to read.

    Reply
  4. SO TWISTY AND TURNY! This book completely enthralled me, I just couldn’t stop reading and the characters really were something else. Glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply
  5. So glad you also loved it! Fantastic book 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

