Review: Dark Eyes by William Richter

Dark Eyes
By William Richter
383 Pages
Published by Razorbill
Publication Date: March 15, 2012
Source: Library

From Goodreads:

Wally was adopted from a Russian orphanage as a child and grew up in a wealthy New York City family. At fifteen, her obsessive need to rebel led her to life on the streets.

Now the sixteen-year-old is beautiful and hardened, and shes just stumbled across the possibility of discovering who she really is. She’ll stop at nothing to find her birth mother before Klesko—her darkeyed father—finds her. Because Klesko will stop at nothing to reclaim the fortune Wally’s mother stole from him long ago. Even if that means murdering his own blood. But Wallys had her own killer training, and she’s hungry for justice.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for teens, this debut thriller introduces our next big series heroine!

I have mentioned before that I have a love of/fascination with all things Russian. I’ve never been to Russia but the idea of going someday really appeals to me. Therefore, the Russian connection in this book was one of the first things that caught my eye and made me want to read it.

As far as the book itself, I felt like it started off a little slow and it took me a while to get into it, but once I did it really picked up and I was engrossed. Once it got past the slow pacing in the beginning (IMO) the rest of the book is very even and flows well. There’s plenty of mystery and action to keep you interested.

Wally herself is a really great main character. She’s tough and strong, but mostly she’s very street smart. She has the skills one would expect that you’d need in order to survive on the streets (and the fact that she’s actually chosen to live on the streets instead of in a posh apartment speaks volume as to what kind of person she is). She’s brave and loyal to her friends. Speaking of friends, Tevin, Jake and Ella are all endearing in their own way. They don’t always agree but they are together for better or worse and that was admirable. The fact that they disagree and they aren’t always inclined to do the right thing added a layer of realism to them.

Watching Wally trying to unravel the mystery of her life kept me guessing, and I pretty much never guessed correctly. That made it more fun in my opinion because when things would be revealed I’d be like “NOoooo” or “Yesssss” and there was one event in particular that left me feeling like this:

Photobucket

I will most definitely be looking forward to the next book in this series.

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great review! I haven’t stumbled upon this book before but after reading the synopsis and your review, I am adding it to my TBR! I love books that have some ‘self discovery’ and this one has the Russian setting which is different. Sounds like it could be nail-biting at times!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

