So Dawn Goes Down to Day: Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

Prodigy (Legend #2)
By Marie Lu
384 Pages
Published by Putnam Juvenile
Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Source: ATW Tours

From Goodreads:

Jan. 4. 1932 Hours.

Ocean Standard Time

Thirty-Five Days After Metias’s Death

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengence, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

A few months back I read and really liked Legend by Marie Lu, and I couldn’t wait to read the sequel, Patriot. No wait…Prodigy. Seriously, whyyyy not stick with Patriot? What a cool freaking title, and I’m pretty sure that’s not just the history nerd in me talking. It fit in so well with the events of this book!

I was wishing strongly that I had had the time to go back and read Legend. One problem for me with reading as many books as I do is that sometimes I forget the little details. Not the main stuff, but the little things. Fortunately most of it came back to me as I read.

Like Legend, Prodigy switches between the perspectives of June & Day. And like in Legend, I liked Day way, way more than I liked June. She’s come a long way but she still hasn’t totally outgrown the characteristics that annoyed me in the first book – like snobbery, questionable loyalty, money grubbing, etc. Day is still fantastic and utterly likeable (though June is still more of a badass, which is a point in her favor). The text colors switch off in this book too – in this one, Day’s chapters are in very dark blue – or at least they are in the ARC. I thought this was way more effective and also way more easy to read than the dark gold text in Legend. It’s super helpful for those who occasionally forget whose chapters we’re actually reading in a book told in multiple perspectives. Not that I’d know anything about that.

I had a bit of a hard time getting through this book if I’m being totally honest. Not that I found it boring, but it was a little slow at times and definitely had that whole “second book in a trilogy” thing going on. There was lots of action, though, which sounds contradictory to saying it’s slow. I don’t really know how to explain it. I also want to be careful not to sound like I didn’t like the book, because that’s not the case. I did like it, just not as much as Legend. It felt like it was missing something, I dunno what. Maybe some of the suspense, maybe the friction between June & Day. To me, this one felt like it focused more on love triangle stuff than Legend did and that’s not really my thing. I also felt like whatever tension there was between Day & June seemed kind of manufactured. In the last book there was genuine animosity and an aversarial relationship between the two and in this one they just had lovers spats and relationship insecurities, which seemed contrary to either character’s personality. In Legend there was a good solid reason for the two to act paranoid and suspicious toward one another, here it was just weird.

I guess the bottom line is that I liked it well enough, but it really felt like the middle book in a series to me. Granted, the middle book in a really good series – which is probably why it seems like I’m being tough on it. It’s still very much worth reading and I’m definitely looking forward to the finale.

3.5/5 Stars

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. No longer are bunk beds for kids pieces of furniture associated
    only with hostels, today they have become an important part of homes around the
    world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

