TTT: Top Ten Books I Think Would Make Great Book Club Picks

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s top ten list is:

Top Ten Books I Think Would Make Great Book Club Books

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley – I literally just read this one and I haven’t even written the review for it yet, but it’s a great choice. YA enough for young readers but would also appeal to adults.

Looking for Alaska by John Green – John Green is an amazing writer, and just like Whaley’s book, his books can appeal to both YA readers and adult readers.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – A lovely book with plenty of discussion possibilities.

Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption – Because it’s an amazing book, it’s total book club bait, and I recommend it any chance I get.

My Korean Deli by Ben Ryder Howe – A fun, readable memoir by a guy who marries into a Korean family and is convinced to buy his mother-in-law a deli in Brooklyn.

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian – Bohjalian completely owns book clubs with his other books and this one is no different. It’s genuinely creepy and would be fun to discuss over drinks with fellow readers.

The Family Fang by Kevin Wilson – Quirky and total discussion fodder. Plus it’s actually el-oh-el funny in quite a few places. Bonus fun: sit back and wait for everyone to get pissed when they find out it’s not about vampires.

The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta – Another veteran of many book clubs with past production like Election and Little Children. Some of the stuff that the characters do is just so bizarre it warrants discussion.

The Night Circus by Erin Morganstern – A no-brainer. Enjoyable and very well-written, it would appeal to a broad spectrum of readers.

Those Across the River by Christopher Buehlman – Creepy and atmospheric with an interesting twist at the end that will delight some people and send others into a rage. Which, of course, is the best kind of book.

I tried to pick some YA books and some adult books to cover a variety of different kinds of book clubs. Of course, there are tons more I could think of but since I’m not huge on critical discussion – as some clubs tend to be – I went more for the kind of group that would just kick back with a box of wine & talk books.

What were your choices? Please comment and leave a link so that I can check out your list!

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Wow. I haven’t read any of those books! I don’t know if that means I’m lame or that I need to join your book club!
    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. I have The Leftovers sitting on my shelf, I need to pick that back up and give it a try. And yes, any John Green book would elicit a ton of discussion in my opinion. Great list:)

    Reply
  3. chimneywriter

     /  February 1, 2012

    Nice list! I only tried joining a book club once in school, but they always read books that I found to be uninteresting. There was one book they read that I was liking, but of course I had to miss the meeting that night do to other engagements. Such is life I suppose. I really need to read some John Green.

    Reply
  4. I simply could not go away your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual
    provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back incessantly to inspect new posts

    Reply
  5. Hola! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got
    the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood
    Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

    Reply
  6. s activities include tobacco leaf procurement and processing, product manufacturing, distribution and responsible sales and marketing.
    Yoga is an important exercise that is designed to enable people live healthy lifestyles by keeping fit.
    This is an embarrassing condition, is due to weakened pelvic floor
    muscles, and which can be rectified by strengthening
    these muscles using pelvic floor exercises or Kegel exercises.

    Reply
  7. A different area saver is carrying an Iphone or other smart telephone because
    with the several functions they have. If it has been in your closet
    since high school, donate it. It has targeted compression zones with a bold graphic design that works
    a lot like kinesiology tape, supporting major
    muscles to reduce fatigue, enhance endurance, and speed recovery.

    Reply
  8. Doskonałe blog masz tutaj .. To trudno znaleźć znakomity pisanie jak twoje dzisiejszych czasach.
    Naprawdę ludzie tacy jak ty! Dbać!

    Reply
  9. Hi there colleagues, good post and fastidious arguments commented at this place, I am truly enjoying by these.

    Reply
  10. Music from musicals is normally easy to sing along.

    In this day of bite-sized attention spans and music being available to everyone all the time on the web, the very
    nature of an “objective” best albums list seemed pretty much useless to me.
    The tune liked renewed popularity carried out by Harry Connick, Jr.

    Reply
  11. I’m not positive the place you are getting your information, but good topic.

    I must spend some time finding out much more or working out more.
    Thank you for magnificent information I was searching for this info for
    my mission.

    Reply
  12. Good thing there are songs that could somehow capture the emotions you’ve been awkwardly hiding for a long time.
    In this day of bite-sized attention spans and music being available to
    everyone all the time on the web, the very nature of an “objective” best
    albums list seemed pretty much useless to me. The majority of people
    favor a pop or rock song, whilst others decide on country music.

    Reply
  13. Quality articles oг revies is thе crucial to attract tɦе visitors tο
    pay a visit the weeb ƿage, that’s աhat tɦis
    site іs providing.

    Reply
  14. Since I PERSONALLY USE my kitchen soapstone merely makes sense for us.

    Reply
  15. Wе’re a group of volunteers and oƿening a
    brand new scheme in oսr community. Yߋur websikte offered uѕ with useful informatiοn tο wߋrk on. You hɑve performed а formidable process аnd оur whole neighborhood will probaƅly be thankful tto yoս.

    Reply
  16. What’s up, every time i used too check website posts here in the early hours in the
    daylight, as i like to find out more and more.

    Reply
  17. Indian Communities in India, be it from any state, follow the Hindu calendar for festivals or finding the auspicious day for marriage or other events.
    With a confluence of varied religious and traits the time to come together and enjoy is plenty.

    Holi is a celebration of colors, where friends and family members
    meet and apply colors to each other.

    Reply

Leave a comment